I've been taxed by my workplaces...but I'm a student. What to do?

AneesaAneesa Posts: 783
Forum Member
✭✭
Hey guys,
I was taxed by work even though I shouldn't have been because I'm a student so how do I get my money back?

Earlier this year I worked at Next, they've taken about £20 off and I worked at Sports Direct who took about £10. How do I get my money back? I heard hm revenue give it back at the end of the year, is this true?

This is the first time this happened to me so apologies if I seem very clueless. I appreciate any help and advice given!

Thanks.

Comments

• iSupposeSoiSupposeSo Posts: 89
    Forum Member
    I didn't think being a student meant you were exempt from tax on a job?! Maybe that's me though!
  • AneesaAneesa Posts: 783
    Forum Member
    ✭✭
    iSupposeSo wrote: »
    I didn't think being a student meant you were exempt from tax on a job?! Maybe that's me though!

Thats what I've been told so far by friends and family!
    Very confused by all this
    Forum Member
    Sometimes when you start a new job you get put on a generic tax code, could be that? You need to speak to HR at your job really. Or look on HMRC website http://search2.hmrc.gov.uk/kbroker/hmrc/locator/locator.jsp
    Forum Member
    ✭✭
    Sometimes when you start a new job you get put on a generic tax code, could be that? You need to speak to HR at your job really. Or look on HMRC website http://search2.hmrc.gov.uk/kbroker/hmrc/locator/locator.jsp

I've left both those jobs now...to be honest left Next on a bad note after I had to chase them up 3 times just to get paid!

I'll check out that website, and was thinking I'll have to call up hm revenue on Monday to find out for sure.
  • cris182cris182 Posts: 9,595
    Forum Member
    Students do still pay tax. So unless you were over taxed then you won't get it back

https://www.gov.uk/student-jobs-paying-tax
    Forum Member