Options

What's the BEST city in the UK?

[Deleted User][Deleted User] Posts: 275
Forum Member
Hi guys!

I'm a 19-year-old student in Washington DC, USA majoring in International Affairs and minoring in Modern European Studies and British Media and Communication. I plan on getting my undergraduate degree on a fast track in three years and going on to do a one year master's programme in Modern European Policy Studies. I also have been working part-time at Starbucks for the last two years and plan on doing so until I finish school here.
From there, though, the plan is to move to the UK and live there for the rest of my life. It's been my dream since I was five years old, my parents and friends have always been really supportive and there's so much I love about the country. Between the NHS, the BBC, the less conservative government, the culture and proximity to Europe, it astounds me why anyone would choose to live anywhere else.

See, now the problem for me is deciding what city is right for me. I've been to London twice and love its cultural diversity, cleanliness, fast-paced atmosphere, fashion scene and the idea that I could go see some of my favourite TV shows like Top Gear, The X Factor or Graham Norton. The only problem I have is that I feel like it's too expensive for someone right out of school to move to. I'd already be dealing with immigration, moving to a new city, making new friends, finding a job and finding a flat that the last thing I need is worrying about my bank account balance too much. Then again, there could be different neighbourhoods that aren't too sketchy and are affordable. I stayed around the High Street Kensington tube station when I went to London and loved it, but I think that might be a bit out of my price range.

Newcastle seems like a charming, less expensive option. I think the people there are lovely and have the sweetest accent and attitude, just don't know much about the city itself.