Why should dogs not be left alone when they are eating?

[Deleted User][Deleted User] Posts: 5,273
Forum Member
Is it just because they might choke or eat too much?

I ask because I've just got a dog, only had him two weeks and I'm not that experienced. I mean, I've been around dogs a bit and even had one as a teenager, but wasn't solely responsible for it.

My new charge does not seem to want to eat unless I'm there. He also seems very fussy about his food.

A bit about his history: he's 18 months old and I'm his 4th keeper (and I intend to be his last!). My daughter's friends have been playing a (probably well-meaning) pass-the-parcel with him and when one gets fed up with him, they pass him onto the next one. I met him at my daughter's and fell in love, but when I found out a few weeks later that the current keeper was wanting to get rid I did think very long and hard. Since having met the dog, I wanted one just like him. I've been thinking about a dog for some time, but never sure what kind or whether I was ready for the commitment. Well I decided I am ready now and this is the right dog for me. And he is, no doubt about it!

BUT he is a fussy eater, he doesn't like dried food, half the time he turns his nose up at the tinned food I gave him and he wouldn't eat unless I was in the room. I had decided to feed him in the same room as the piano (I'm not posh, by the way, just happen to have a piano left by a family member in a small back room!) and so I was rather bored just wathing him eat and I started to play.

Since then, he has not wanted to eat until I start to play. Twice a day! Well, I did need some practice, it's true!