VGA - laptop to TV issue

Hi

Having trouble getting audio from my TV when connecting my laptop to it with a VGA cable. I want to watch Netflix on there and I know you need something extra to get audio from your TV instead of laptop speakers.

I got this: http://thumbs.ebaystatic.com/d/l140/pict/280883907250_4.jpg But then I realised my TV (which is new!) doesn’t have an audio jack.

So I got this scart adaptor: http://thumbs.ebaystatic.com/d/l140/pict/130943168546_1.jpg But the above audio jack is too big to fit in the holes.

Can someone tell me what I need that will connect properly to my laptop and to my TV? It has a HDMI socket, but does HDMI cables allow you to get the sound from the TV? Or would I need a VGA or HDMI cable with one end with those 3 plug things for picture and sound that will fit into my scart adaptor?

As you can tell, I’m not an expert at this! Thanks for any help :)

Comments

• Keiō LineKeiō Line Posts: 12,979
    Forum Member
    ✭✭
    Frankie-J wrote: »
    Hi

Having trouble getting audio from my TV when connecting my laptop to it with a VGA cable. I want to watch Netflix on there and I know you need something extra to get audio from your TV instead of laptop speakers.

I got this: http://thumbs.ebaystatic.com/d/l140/pict/280883907250_4.jpg But then I realised my TV (which is new!) doesn’t have an audio jack.

So I got this scart adaptor: http://thumbs.ebaystatic.com/d/l140/pict/130943168546_1.jpg But the above audio jack is too big to fit in the holes.

Can someone tell me what I need that will connect properly to my laptop and to my TV? It has a HDMI socket, but does HDMI cables allow you to get the sound from the TV? Or would I need a VGA or HDMI cable with one end with those 3 plug things for picture and sound that will fit into my scart adaptor?

HDMI carries audio. Does your laptop have a HDMI output?
    best posting the model of laptop and TV
  • chrisjrchrisjr Posts: 33,282
    Forum Member
    ✭✭✭
    Frankie-J wrote: »
    Hi