Options

Storage Heaters

PsychosisPsychosis Posts: 18,591
Forum Member
✭✭
Hi,

We're looking at buying a property which is perfect in every way except that it uses storage heaters instead of central heating. I have no experience with that. I'm looking for some honest opinions. We spoke to the owner who was insistent that she noticed no difference in bills. She seemed genuine, but she is trying to get money off us, so I don't want to take her completely at face value even though she seemed lovely.

I gather that it's difficult to regulate when the house is warm enough and that there might be problems keeping it heated in the evening. Any thoughts? I'm not sure what exactly I'm looking for here but we're going for a second viewing tomorrow and I want to be prepared. Is there anything I should be asking to get more specific information?

Comments

• Options
    GiraffeGirlGiraffeGirl Posts: 13,619
    Forum Member
    ✭✭
    My parents have had storage heaters for years - ever since they moved into our house about 30 years ago. They've recently (last couple of years) bought some new ones which are more responsive - you set a base level temp. and a 'booster' temp so it maintains the same temperature. They've always seemed very economic. I wouldn't be averse to having them myself.
  • Options
    JordanDSJordanDS Posts: 1,833
    Forum Member
    ✭✭✭
    If the house is well insulated, they work OK. You just have to make sure you pay attention to the weather forecast for the next day so you set them to an appropriate input level before you go to bed. Don't worry too much about the house being cold in the evening, most storage heaters have a boost setting so you can increase the output during the evening.

If you want to make savings on your electricity bill on Economy Seven tariff, make sure you move as much of your usage (such as heating, water heating, tumble-drying etc) to the overnight period to take advantage of the very cheap overnight electricity.