Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

Internet on load


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 22-01-2013, 11:19
cat666
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 1,947

I recently re-installed my PC and it all works fine but I am running into a little problem. Internet works fine, but it takes an absolute age to connect, whereas in the past, as soon as Windows was up, so was the Internet.

Is there anyway to make the PC register the Internet connection as the first thing it does? Some of the startup items are failing as there is no Internet for the update check?

Ta
cat666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 22-01-2013, 11:25
flagpole
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 43,524
I recently re-installed my PC and it all works fine but I am running into a little problem. Internet works fine, but it takes an absolute age to connect, whereas in the past, as soon as Windows was up, so was the Internet.

Is there anyway to make the PC register the Internet connection as the first thing it does? Some of the startup items are failing as there is no Internet for the update check?

Ta
how is your computer connected to the internet?
flagpole is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-01-2013, 11:26
John259
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Norwich, Norfolk, UK
Posts: 13,235
Do you know whether the problem is the connection between your computer and your router, or between your router and your ISP?
John259 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-01-2013, 14:54
cat666
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 1,947
It's a Virgin Superhub, connected via ethernet.

There is no actual problem, Internet works fine, it just takes an age for Windows to realise there is an Internet connection there.
cat666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-01-2013, 14:57
emptybox
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Scottish Borders
Posts: 11,022
It could be a driver issue.
Even an ethernet port needs the correct driver to work, and it may be your network adaptor is using a generic driver, after re-installation of Windows, rather than a more efficient specific driver.

Go into Device Manager and see if it's using the most up to date driver.
emptybox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-01-2013, 15:02
John259
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Norwich, Norfolk, UK
Posts: 13,235
It's a Virgin Superhub, connected via ethernet.

There is no actual problem, Internet works fine, it just takes an age for Windows to realise there is an Internet connection there.
Is there an led on the router to indicate when it has fully established the connection to the ISP?

Can you access the router's admin functions immediately or is that subject to the delay?

In other words, can we get some evidence to tell us which of the two connections is being slow to establish itself?
John259 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-01-2013, 15:16
flagpole
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 43,524
It could be a driver issue.
Even an ethernet port needs the correct driver to work, and it may be your network adaptor is using a generic driver, after re-installation of Windows, rather than a more efficient specific driver.

Go into Device Manager and see if it's using the most up to date driver.
this would be my first thought too. very consistent with the fact that the OP has just reinstalled windows.

I would say it would be worth a visit to the PC/motherboard manufacturer website.
flagpole is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-01-2013, 09:40
cat666
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 1,947
I'll check the drivers tonight. The internet is always on. Wifi works, as does my secondardy wired machine.
cat666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-01-2013, 09:54
cat666
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 1,947
Still not 100% sorted but it appears that even though I saw Windows Update doing SP1 it didn't do it, and therefore not SP2 either. I did SP1 last night manually and will do SP2 tonight. So fingers crossed it will sort it.
cat666 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 22:01.