Options

Hiring a car in Greece.

victor melvictor mel Posts: 4,963
Forum Member
✭✭✭
What should one take to hire a car in the Greek Islands? Is it just a licence?

Comments

• Options
    mred2000mred2000 Posts: 10,050
    Forum Member
    ✭✭
    When I was over there about 10 years ago I'd had to get a special licence for driving abroad, on top of my regular licence. Can't for the life of me remember exactly what it was but it ran out after 12 months...
    However, it might've been because I was a relatively new driver, having only passed my test within the year.
  • Options
    Stewie_CStewie_C Posts: 1,739
    Forum Member
    ✭✭✭
    Have a look for general info https://www.gov.uk/driving-abroad and http://www.theaa.com/motoring_advice/touring_tips/greece.pdf

I always take both parts of the driving licence and that's been OK. But if you are planning on taking it out of Greece to other EU countries you need to check this out before you book.

The International Driving permit (IDP) doesn't seem to be a requirement, but they are easy to get from the AA / RAC.

Also, getting your own sat-nav with EU mapping is a good idea. You can hire them over there, but that can be as much as buying one at home.
  • Options
    DMN1968DMN1968 Posts: 2,875
    Forum Member
    ✭✭✭
    Hired vehicles in Greece many times. All I have needed is both bits of my UK drivers licence.

One thing well worth doing is to get some hire car excess insurance. Usually when you hire a vehicle, the insurance covers you for all damage, but you have to pay an excess, usually in the order of a few hundred pounds. Of course, return the vehicle with a stone chip or slight scratch and they will charge you for this. They will typically offer their own excess insurance for about £10-£20/day, but you can get your own for about £2-3 a day. Eg. https://www.confused.com/car-hire-excess-insurance