Options

'Dumping' a driving instructor

thefairydandythefairydandy Posts: 3,235
Forum Member
✭✭✭
Hi,

I could do with some tips/advice as I'm thinking about switching driving instructors. Thanks for any advice in advance!

Q1) Should I do it?

I'm onto my sixth lesson, and although I am progressing well, I don't feel like I'm getting enough for my £20/hour. My instructor gives some ambiguous instructions (sometimes mumbled), which lead to me making mistakes which I feel I wouldn't make if he were clearer. Also, there are a couple of things he hasn't instructed me on at all but is telling me off for getting wrong (I made it clear at the start that I was a complete noob). I brought this up with him at the end of last week, and his response was far from satisfactory ('I don't want to be giving you instructions all the time... You'll just depend on the instructions and not KNOW what to do' - all fair if he'd actually given the instructions in the first place!)

There's a couple of other things, like he was taking calls in a lesson, and I just feel like I'm not getting the value out of him that I should. Some of these things are for me to ask and state a preference, but surely every new driver should be told how to brake rather than work it out for themselves!

2) How should I do it?

If he doesn't improve this week, should I give it another week or ditch him straight away? And how should I do it! Being a coward in this regard, I'm tempted to just text - after all, I feel under no obligation to him, and don't feel he'd be upset by it, but would this be out of line? ALso, he's with an agency, who I have no problems with (RED), so would it be possible to rearrange it through them?

Like I say, I'm new to this so any help would be much appreciated :)

Comments

• Options
    [Deleted User][Deleted User] Posts: 1,229
    Forum Member
    ✭✭✭
    I texted mine as my Dad thought she was taking the piss (20 lessons and no maneuvers!)