Cinema prices are taking the piss!

CentCent Posts: 26,301
Forum Member
✭✭✭
What the hell!

I wanted too take my dad to see Avatar 3D, in the afternoon. I am a student, he is a senior.

For me, him, smallest drink each and smallest popcorn each...

Vue - £24 (Discounts for early screening, student, senior and combo food/drink)

Odeon - £30 (Discounts for student, senior)

Cineworld - £25 (Discounts for student, senior)

(We actually went to Vue, other prices based on online ticket prices and food prices last time we went)

I realise its 3D and that food and drink are expensive, but this is bordering on ridiculous.

If we were both adults that Odeon price would be £35.

To compare, if we booked online right now me and my dad could get a day at Alton Towers for £45.

It's just too expensive to be able to do anymore for me. Anyone else the same?

Comments

• grahamzxygrahamzxy Posts: 11,920
    Forum Member
    ✭✭
    I wouldn't advise anyone buys food at a cinema, take a bag of revels and a coke zero, that is what I always do costs about £2.00 total.

Regarding cinema tickets I pay around £6.50 for a regular 2D film, which is very good value for 2010 - it costs about £4 to rent a dvd these days. The cinema is offering a service and is paying a large chunk of your ticket price to Mr Cameron.

3D cinema will never become the norm until it can be achieved without those silly glasses which can cause nausea.

Having said all this I hope you enjoyed the film, Alton Towers would have been a bit chilly today, also Avatar cost a lot more to make than Alton Towers cost to build.
  • CentCent Posts: 26,301
    Forum Member
    ✭✭✭
    grahamzxy wrote: »
    I wouldn't advise anyone buys food at a cinema, take a bag of revels and a coke zero, that is what I always do costs about £2.00 total.