My housemate

pmw_hewittpmw_hewitt Posts: 1,193
Forum Member
✭✭✭
I'm a second year student and I'm now living in student housing with three others. I'm not trying to be bitchy here, but I'm genuinely somewhat concerned.

When I shared halls with this particular person last year, I held a brief conversation with his mother on the first day, in which she told me that he has Asperger's Syndrome and sometimes struggles with others. I was fine with that, as I too am an (albeit mild) AS sufferer. Indeed, he did come across as somewhat eccentric and socially awkward, but this was to be expected and I didn't judge him for it, I also defended him around the others (without telling them explicitly what his issue is - not my business to tell people).

Anyway, fast forward a year and he's now living with us properly. Now we're sharing a house together and not just a kitchen, we're starting to become rather concerned. From about 10am he starts to hold very loud conversations with himself in his room. We'd occasionally hear him if we went past his bedroom last year, but we all assumed he was online gaming and/or Skyping. Thing is, this started in the new house before we even had the internet set up. He'll be almost shouting at himself for hours on end. He's actually doing it right now, and has been doing so non-stop since I got home from lectures at about 6:30pm. Sometimes, he's actually holding full-on conversations as two people. The "characters" he voices appear from my room next door to be an angry, threatening man and a meek, frightened woman. These are LOUD and can be heard throughout the house at all hours, which means that he either has no idea that he's doing it, or doesn't care.