HELP!!! Father of the Bride Speech

jojoenojojoeno Posts: 1,842
Forum Member
✭✭✭
I have the honour of giving my beautiful daughter away in a few weeks time. It will be a wonderful occasion and I will be very proud. But as its my first time I need ideas for the all important speech.

Ive researched on line but they all seem to be much the same , I want fresh ideas on what to add .

Comments

• Bex_123Bex_123 Posts: 10,783
    Forum Member
    ✭✭
    I'd imagine the best speech would be very personal you.

Just speak from the heart :)
  • Mad_Dog1Mad_Dog1 Posts: 675
    Forum Member
    ✭✭
    You could give a rant on why your think her boyfriend will make a crap husband and father.. I've heard they go down a treat.
  • [Deleted User][Deleted User] Posts: 7,341
    Forum Member
    We'll be on The Jeremy Kyle Show?
  • FizixFizix Posts: 16,932
    Forum Member
    ✭✭
    Honestly... Take all the suggestions you get, remove the ones that don't actually give you ideas, such as Bex' as they are true but not giving ideas. These are safe.

Then look at all the actual suggestions and don't say or do those things for this is DS and they will only lead to problems.
  • TakaeTakae Posts: 13,555
    Forum Member
    ✭✭
    The best speech I heard was one father described how he felt at each of his daughter's landmarks - 1st birthday, 5th, 13th, 18th and 21st - and memorable moments. The first day she went to infants school, when she broke both legs after carting down a steep hill on a skateboard, when she crashed her first car, and when she cried over losing a family pet.

Then he recalled the first time she brought her boyfriend home ("I thought he looked a bit iffy"), and how the boyfriend made his daughter an even better person over time. How he felt when they got engaged. He admitted to feeling he was losing his daughter, but he eventually realised he was gaining a son.