Options

Has anyone here replaced their laptop with tablet / iPad + headless PC

GeordiePaulGeordiePaul Posts: 1,323
Forum Member
✭✭✭
If so how are you finding it? What do you use?

Currently I have an ultrabook which is nice but arguably overkill for my needs most of the time. I've got a fair bit of money tied up in this machine. I work in IT and frankly, I'm getting tired / sick of windows. It's like a high maintenance girlfriend, a total pain and I feel like I'm doing my job at home at times as well as at work. Tablets are a lot less hassle...

I've been using the iPad mini 2 and I've started to come to the realisation that, unlike the android tablets I've used (which I've found are blighted by bugs and find android tablet apps poor compared with their iOS equivalents), I really enjoy the iPad. So it's got me wondering, I was planning to replace the mini 2 with an air 32gb, set up a cheap PC to connect to my TV that will act as a server with xbmc and for file services etc. This could obviously be connected to via rdp so on the very rare occasion I need to do some proper work at home, I still could, but this is a rare event.

I'm just interested to see if anyone's gone the same way and how they are finding it.

Comments

• Options
    victorslotvictorslot Posts: 619
    Forum Member
    ✭✭
    I'm sure you have thought of it, being an IT man, so considering your comments it seems your ideal system would be a MacMini. It would work seamlessly with your iPad is silent in operation, ideal to use as a media centre and with a wireless keyboard and mouse can still be used on the odd occasion you need something more powerful/serious. There are loads around on the second hand or nearly new market with prices to suit every pocket.
  • Options
    Forum Member
    ✭✭✭