Would you be a medical guinea pig for £2k?

londonitelondonite Posts: 1,291
Forum Member
✭✭✭
After reading an article in the metro this morning, i saw you can earn 2 grand if you offer to test new medicines

Anyone done this, anyone thinking of it......anyone got a link for it!!?

Would you do it or do you?

Comments

• epicurianepicurian Posts: 19,291
    Forum Member
    ✭✭
    I volunteered to do it for an eczema treatment when I was a student, but I was disqualified on medical grounds. I don't know if I'd do it now, as I'm older and a bit more risk averse.
  • AndrueAndrue Posts: 23,363
    Forum Member
    ✭✭✭
    No amount of money would persuade me to allow myself to be turned into a guinea pig. They don't have opposable thumbs and their eyesight is poor :)
  • kimotagkimotag Posts: 11,064
    Forum Member
    ✭✭
    I've done trials back in my student days, but I always made sure that I understood the trials that I did. One was for those pills that block fat-absorption and the other was for a new eczema cream. There is no way that I would have taken part in those trials about ten years ago, that boosted the immune system to crazy levels, and resulted in peoples immune systems attacking healthy tissue.
  • 3PS3PS Posts: 822
    Forum Member
    ✭✭
    No way. This thread brought back memories of those people who had a bad reaction to a drug. Think one had his feet or something amputated. Was in the newspapers years back
  • maxinerulesmaxinerules Posts: 698
    Forum Member
    ✭✭
    Just read up on what happened to those men- their white blood cells disappeared completely and they face a lifetime of contracting cancer, lupus and other awful diseases.For a few hundred pounds.
  • TominxsterTominxster Posts: 1,793
    Forum Member
    ✭✭✭
    Just read up on what happened to those men- their white blood cells disappeared completely and they face a lifetime of contracting cancer, lupus and other awful diseases.For a few hundred pounds.