Cranberry tablets

[Deleted User][Deleted User] Posts: 4,091
Forum Member
✭✭✭
Is it possible that cranberry tablets are giving me diarrhoea?

(Not a joke post).

Comments

• HypnodiscHypnodisc Posts: 22,728
    Forum Member
    ✭✭✭
    I suppose it's possible, as with anything, but probably not.

Cranberry's don't stick out as being a cause of diarrhea in my mind, but then again, I'm not a doctor.

If you have a medical issue which is bothering you, and for which you don't know the cause the best thing to do would be to see a doctor.
  • scruffpotscruffpot Posts: 4,570
    Forum Member
    ✭✭✭
    Cranberry's are evil and horrid... actually im allergic to them they make me sick and come out in a rash
  • caraxcarax Posts: 3,044
    Forum Member
    ✭✭✭
    Yes, taken to excess cranberries can cause diarrhoea. I wouldn't say 5 tablets a week was excessive, but maybe you're just slightly intolerant of them. If you've just started taking them you may find this passes (sorry) in a few days.
  • NormandieNormandie Posts: 4,617
    Forum Member
    ✭✭✭
    You may be allergic to something in the tablets... or the cranberry extract itself.

The only contra thing I can think of with cranberry tablets or cranberry juice for that matter is they have mild blood-thinning properties so you shouldn't take / drink cranberry products if you are due an op or already on blood thinning medication.

E2a: and even that information appears to be out-of-date according to this article from mid-2013.

http://www.ptinr.com/warfarin-you/news-stories/cranberry-warfarin-ok-together
  • WolfsheadishWolfsheadish Posts: 10,400
    Forum Member
    ✭✭
    I agree with Normandie, I'd be surprised if it were the cranberries causing the problem. More likely it's one of the other ingredients in the capsules. I suppose the simplest thing would be to stop taking them for a while and see what happens. Then perhaps take the cranberry in another form?
  • JohnbeeJohnbee Posts: 4,019
    Forum Member
    ✭✭✭