Options

Average cost of feeding a family of four?

[Deleted User][Deleted User] Posts: 623
Forum Member
✭✭
Hi all -

OK, I know it's a REALLY arbitrary question, but what do you think the general cost of food for a family of four for a month is? I KNOW it'll depend on a lot of factors, but I'm just interested to see what people think.

Reason I'm asking: my mate's ex-wife is claiming that £400 won't cover HALF of what she spends on food for two children, ages 11 and 14, over the course of a month. She is JUST referring to the cost of food - no other factors.

I have no experience in this - don't have kids - but I think that is high. I'd be interested in other people's opinions.

Many thanks.

Comments

• Options
    CherryRoseCherryRose Posts: 13,198
    Forum Member
    ✭✭
    I'd say around a £100 per week to feed a family of four, minus dinner monies. Dinner money for secondary school is about £2.50 - £3 per day per child.

You could do it for less if you bought smart price brand or shopped at Aldi.
  • Options
    L_SilverwolfL_Silverwolf Posts: 770
    Forum Member
    ✭✭
    It depends a lot on the kids too. For instance, my 3 nephews are aged between 11 & 15, and are extremely sporty & active. Therefore they are like bottomless pits to feed. Even with careful shopping, food costs can be more expensive than you'd expect. £100 a week seems on the low side for kids like them. However, if your mate's kids are less active, then maybe £100 might be OK.
  • Options
    xNATILLYxxNATILLYx Posts: 6,509
    Forum Member
    When i was still lviving at home for us a family of four also it was about £70 a week. We took packed lunches to school so that is included.
    My parents **** bumped that up massively :p on top of that but we got a decent amount of food and drink for that.
    So only £280 a month and both me & my dad have an appetite :p