Working night shift any tips?

miss buzzybeemiss buzzybee Posts: 16,429
Forum Member
✭✭
I am starting a new job where I will be working 7 nights (11pm to 7am) on 7 nights off. I have never worked a night shift before (tough times call for tough decisions!!). It is as office type desk job, so mostly sitting down. I am a night owl so not too worried about being up until about 3am, but worrying about sleeping in the daytime. I think as I will get home at about after 9am, that I will try to sleep from 12pm till about 7pm, then get ready, have dinner and leave for work at 9.30pm. Any tips on what I should eat at work and how to cope?

Comments

• [Deleted User][Deleted User] Posts: 21,014
    Forum Member
    ✭✭✭
    Stare into bright lights to help lower melatonin levels which makes you feel sleepy :p
  • fat controllerfat controller Posts: 13,757
    Forum Member
    ✭✭
    Invest in a blackout blind and/or really thick curtains as soon as you can to make sure that your room is as dark as possible for you to get off to sleep. Avoid caffeinated drinks in the latter half of your shift, as they will keep you awake when you get home.

As for foods, I suppose that depends on what facilities are available to you at your workplace?

Also, when you are on your 7 days off, try not to break your sleeping habits unless you really need to - its much easier to keep your sleep hours pretty much the same throughout, whether you are at work or not.
  • [Deleted User][Deleted User] Posts: 2,478
    Forum Member
    ✭✭✭
    I did a couple of stints on nights as a student nurse. We used to find that 3 and 4 am is the worst time for keeping awake. Before and after that it was fine. On my last night on before nights off I'd come home and not sleep so that I was back in the routine of sleeping at night on my time off. I can't imagine doing 7 nights on in a row, that seems unreasonable but the 7 nights off will be good.
  • miss buzzybeemiss buzzybee Posts: 16,429
    Forum Member
    ✭✭