Options

Connecting S-video / Component to RGB Scart

JaystarJaystar Posts: 4,854
Forum Member
✭✭✭
Hi, I'm an AV noob and would like to avail myself of the expert advice in this forum, if I may.

I've done a whole load of background reading and I think that I have finally got my head round the whole SVHS versus S-Video and Component versus Composite thing, but despite this my head is still hurting from trying to figure out how to connect up some devices I have at home.

I have a Tvix Media Player that has composite, component and S-video outputs, and one of the TVs that it will sometimes be connected to is a Philips 21" CRT that has only a single Scart socket. The TV has no dedicated S-video side input and, as far as I can tell from the specs, it does not accept S-video over Scart either. It seems as if the TV can only accept RGB or CVBS (which I am assuming is the posh name for composite).

I'm wondering what the best way is to get the highest quality signal from the Tvix to the TV?

I soon realised that a component to Scart lead was not going to work because of some sync thingy not being on the correct colour wotsit (excuse my technical jargon) :o but I'm guessing that just as much of a problem is the fact that there is no Y-Pr-Pb to RGB conversion being done.

That being the case, does that mean that the same problem will exist if I tried to use an S-video to Scart lead (i.e. would it still not work because the philips TV can't take S-video and the lead is not doing Y/C to RGB conversion?)

If so, then I guess I am looking at a dedicated conversion device and I have a choice of starting with S-video or Component at the source and ending with RGB or Composite in the TV.

As RGB and component are the higher quality options should I just be looking to get a component to RGB converter, or is it still worth considering an S-video to RGB converter?