Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

Which Mobile BB allow VOIP


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 23-01-2010, 20:45
EleanorRigby
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Somewhere on planet earth
Posts: 11,320

Can anyone tell me which mobile BB provider allow VOIP ?

I'm using T Mobile at the moment and I don't think they allow it.

I also have an 02 dongle which I use occasionally.

Oh and will VOIP work OK with mobile BB ?????

Thanks.
EleanorRigby is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 23-01-2010, 23:25
Appleseed
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Fakenham
Posts: 3,637
Can anyone tell me which mobile BB provider allow VOIP ?

I'm using T Mobile at the moment and I don't think they allow it.

I also have an 02 dongle which I use occasionally.

Oh and will VOIP work OK with mobile BB ?????

Thanks.
I have a T-Mobile dongle (and laptop) deal and VoIP is allowed, as are IM programs etc.

As long as the connection is half decent (upwards of 250k) you should have no problems with VoIP - but I wouldn't surf at the same time!

Edit - I'm on a contract and so I speak assuming you are too. I'm not sure how you stand on PAYG (if that's what you're on) but I do know that '3' allow VoIP via PAYG mobile broadband.
Appleseed is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 24-01-2010, 08:58
EleanorRigby
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Somewhere on planet earth
Posts: 11,320
The T Mobile is a 15 monthly contract 3gb download a month and the PAYG 02 dongle you pay 15 and it lasts for 30 days (or less if you use up your 3gb allowance).
EleanorRigby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-01-2010, 01:11
sean2003
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Reading
Posts: 2,608
I've found the quality of mobile broadband usually to be too poor to be able to sustain a VoIP call without any noticebale delay / quality issues.
sean2003 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-01-2010, 07:35
EleanorRigby
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Somewhere on planet earth
Posts: 11,320
Thanks....... the speed of my T Mobile BB does vary quite a bit.
EleanorRigby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2010, 13:59
battlezone
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Oxford (formally Newcastle)
Posts: 1,796
I'm hoping a 3 monthly contract will allow SIP (VoIP) services.

I am planning on buying a Netgear 3G router which allows user control on QoS for VoIP services. I'm told by Voicehost they require 80kbs minimum for their service.
battlezone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2010, 14:16
sean2003
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Reading
Posts: 2,608
The quality of VoIP calls over 3G and HSDPA services really is not too good in most cases!
sean2003 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2010, 09:31
takingyouforwar
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Mandaue City, Philippines
Posts: 2
T Mobile with HSPDA services
takingyouforwar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2010, 22:42
nafanny29
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Kilburn, NW London
Posts: 1,136
VOIP over mobile internet is useless LOL
nafanny29 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2010, 16:20
hanssolo
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 11,575
I'm hoping a 3 monthly contract will allow SIP (VoIP) services.

I am planning on buying a Netgear 3G router which allows user control on QoS for VoIP services. I'm told by Voicehost they require 80kbs minimum for their service.
3 have a deal with Skype to allow it's use over the 3 network, but not sure about other services!

Vodafone also allows Skype
http://www.compare3gmobilebroadband....d-internet.htm
hanssolo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2010, 21:00
chaos77
Guest
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 757
i have used SIP with t-mobile on an android phone (sipdroid) - both voice and video were fine, i would imagine a dongle would work the same!
chaos77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2011, 03:52
Presenter100
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: West Midlands, United Kingdom
Posts: 766
I use the Skype App on my HTC Desire via Orange on a 20 month contract. Hardly notice data usage and it works nicely calling my partner in China
Presenter100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2012, 17:26
Magnamundian
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Stoke-on-Trent
Posts: 1,858
I'm using Soho66 VOIP on a E63 via 3Mobile (10 per month contract sim-only deal).

Allows me to pickup calls for the OH's business when she can't answer them.
Magnamundian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-03-2013, 23:31
Iqoniq
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Nottinghamshire
Posts: 1,308
VOIP over mobile internet is useless LOL
I've got Skype on my phone and I generally use it to call a friend in the US and the quality is usually great, apart from the odd bit of clicking occasionally. I'm with 3.
Iqoniq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-03-2013, 13:57
SkipTracer
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: The City and County of Bristol
Posts: 1,969
I've got Skype on my phone and I generally use it to call a friend in the US and the quality is usually great, apart from the odd bit of clicking occasionally. I'm with 3.
Perhaps they have improved the network since November 2010.

Never had any problem with 3 nether using Skype or Sipgate same goes for GiffGaff.
SkipTracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-05-2013, 16:43
Stuey3D
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Northamptonshire
Posts: 40
Used Skype to make video calls on my iPhone on O2 with no problems at all.
Stuey3D is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:13.