Classic iPod question on transferring songs.

wildholliewildhollie Posts: 3,029
Forum Member
✭✭✭
So, my classic iPod (80GB) is 5 years old now, and i think it's on its way out.
Had a couple of issues where it has started turning off by itself. It also has a couple of little black lines on the screen.

So i will probably go out and buy a new one, but the issue here is i have over 2500 songs on it that i really dont want to lose. And although some of them are still on the PC in various libraries, i am never going to remember what i have on there without writing it all down lol
I also have a few playlists that i dont want to have to re-do.

Is there an EASY way to copy the songs from my current ipod onto a PC and then transfer them back to my new iPod ?

Be good to hear suggestions on how to do or software to use....nothing too techie as im not too good with that sort of thing - thanks :)

Comments

• user123456789user123456789 Posts: 16,589
    Forum Member
    ✭✭
    Doesn't iTunes handle all that?
  • DANCE OF DEATHDANCE OF DEATH Posts: 4,781
    Forum Member
    ✭✭✭
    wildhollie wrote: »
    So, my classic iPod (80GB) is 5 years old now, and i think it's on its way out.
    Had a couple of issues where it has started turning off by itself. It also has a couple of little black lines on the screen.

So i will probably go out and buy a new one, but the issue here is i have over 2500 songs on it that i really dont want to lose. And although some of them are still on the PC in various libraries, i am never going to remember what i have on there without writing it all down lol
    I also have a few playlists that i dont want to have to re-do.

Is there an EASY way to copy the songs from my current ipod onto a PC and then transfer them back to my new iPod ?

Be good to hear suggestions on how to do or software to use....nothing too techie as im not too good with that sort of thing - thanks :)

I lost most of my music a while back and the way I did was this.