Options

Driving Lessons - Take a break?

StaceySkyStaceySky Posts: 570
Forum Member
✭✭
I started taking driving lessons since January. I use to love it, however now I don't hate it but I don't like it. I got a lesson coming up tomorrow morning, it's only for an hour, but I don't really want to do it. Every week I get like this, can't be bothered. It's because I'm not good at it. I haven't really learnt a lot since I started this year. Seriously I only just realized what I should do to stop stalling the car, let the clutch come to the bite before the traffic lights turn green, then releasing the brake. I'm ok with the gears now, before I was hopeless. Doing a turn in the road and bay parking I can't seem to do at all and I've been learning to do these for a month now. I panic so much when I get to a roundabout, or when I have to speed up. Once I panicked so much at a busy roundabout that I lost control of the car and nearly crashed into a lorry, no joke. :eek:

Basically I'm not sure if I should take a break from it, or carry on. The reason why I'm still doing it now is because I do want to be able to drive, like I said I don't hate it. And to be honest everyone needs to be able to drive to do simply things like go the local grocery store. Driving also gives you more options in life as well. Plus I'm scared that if I stop I will forget everything I have learnt.

Should I carry on driving, or take a break? What are your thoughts on this? What where/are you like when you were/are learning? :confused:

Oh god. I'm so sorry for the long post. This should be in the advice forum, just realized, sorry. :o

Comments

• Options
    PrimalIcePrimalIce Posts: 2,897
    Forum Member
    ✭✭✭
    Maybe you should try another instructor.

For a start it should not be possible to lose control of the car with a good instructor. He or she is there to help you learn without being at risk.
  • Options
    [Deleted User][Deleted User] Posts: 2,889
    Forum Member
    ✭✭✭