Options

Attitudes to Death

MsBehaviourMsBehaviour Posts: 5,532
Forum Member
I am an MA Fine Art student researching attitudes to death/mortality in relation to my work. There has recently been a thread about whether aetheists fear death - and I found that very interesting.

I would like to ask those of you with a religious belief (any faith) about their hopes and fears in relation to death. This is a genuine request. I am not trolling or seeking to incite a flame war between believers/non-believers etc. :)

Any contributions much appreciated. :)

Comments

• Options
    [Deleted User][Deleted User] Posts: 2,364
    Forum Member
    ✭✭✭
    Very nice thread OP! I am a spiritual person but I do not belong to an organized religion at the current time. I do believe in God, and that Jesus was a very relevant figure on earth, perhaps the greatest teacher that ever lived at the very least. I believe in an afterlife, however, I do not have a fixed idea of what that will be other than, I believe it will be better than life on earth. There has to be a wonderful feeling of being out of a human body, especially if you are older or have been ill.

I will not speculate on the afterlife only to say I do believe it's eternal. I believe this is a great learning experience here on earth but that our true selves are our souls, not contained in the human body. The human body serves as a vehichle on earth.

I believe the issues you do not work out on earth, will have to be worked out on the other side. I also believe we are given life reviews, and we will feel the things we put others through on the earth, the pain we caused them, the love we filled them with, the anger, and everything else. We will experience this life again, sort of in a 3-D experience and then we will move on to our life on the other side.