Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

TiVo Box installation help


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-07-2011, 12:16
gorsewaygirl
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 290

Am seriously considering moving from the Vx to TiVo but I am concerned about the installation. Am I right that the TiVo has its own broadband connection and if so does this come as a branch off of my existing broadband cable or as an entirely new broadband cable run from the cable point on the wall (so two independent feeds).

I ask this because my broadband cable is run under the floorboards and there is nowhere to run a new cable from the point on the wall to where the TiVo box would be placed without having the floor boards up again. Can anyone help? Thank you
gorsewaygirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 07-07-2011, 12:42
wombler
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Narnia
Posts: 825
Am seriously considering moving from the Vx to TiVo but I am concerned about the installation. Am I right that the TiVo has its own broadband connection and if so does this come as a branch off of my existing broadband cable or as an entirely new broadband cable run from the cable point on the wall (so two independent feeds).

I ask this because my broadband cable is run under the floorboards and there is nowhere to run a new cable from the point on the wall to where the TiVo box would be placed without having the floor boards up again. Can anyone help? Thank you
The Tivo Broadband connection is delivered via the TV cable that will go into the back of the box.

So, the same cable that exists for your V+ will be used. No atdditional ones are needed unless you keep the V+ box as well
wombler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2011, 12:53
gorsewaygirl
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 290
Thank you so much - was concerned that they'd be running another cable from the input box on the wall and I'd have to have the floor up! To hear they can use the existing connections from my V+ HD box and not have to add any others means that TiVo can come to my house!!!
gorsewaygirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2011, 13:02
jeremy.davis
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Thurcaston, Leicester
Posts: 577
All the new cable tv boxes are just cable modems with a video card stuck on it. When you watch TV you simply choose a video stream to watch - just like on www.youtube.com. The "TV" connection is actually just a broadband connection to VM.
jeremy.davis is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:30.