Experiences of Radiotherapy pls.

[Deleted User][Deleted User] Posts: 5,383
Forum Member
Seems i have to under go some radiotherapy for a new Oesophageal tumour. I would welcome your experiences of Radiotherapy so I have some clue what I'm in for. Have had major surgery and chemotherapy in the past but Radiotherapy is a new experience for me.

Comments

• sadmuppetsadmuppet Posts: 8,222
    Forum Member
    I have no experience yet, but just wanted to send you my best wishes for your treatment!

I had my planning CT scan and tattoos today - will be starting 25 fractions from 28th July, so I might be able to report some experiences before you start!

Mind you, I'm sure there'll be plenty of others who will be more help than me before then... :D
  • TelevisionUserTelevisionUser Posts: 41,404
    Forum Member
    There is some advice here: http://www.macmillan.org.uk/Cancerinformation/Cancertreatment/Treatmenttypes/Radiotherapy/Sideeffects/General.aspx

I know someone who's had cancer and the side effects of the radiotherapy was noticeably less than that of chemotherapy. I hope that helps.
  • [Deleted User][Deleted User] Posts: 5,383
    Forum Member
    25 fractions, so that=25 days=5 weeks? OMG! Might that be what i'm in for?
    Forum Member
    LCDMAN wrote: »
    25 fractions, so that=25 days=5 weeks? OMG! Might that be what i'm in for?

Yep, 5 days a week for 5 weeks!

A bit like chemo, I think the number of treatments is very dependent on the type of cancer, the location etc etc. so you may not need as many (or more!) Your oncologist will decide on that...
    Forum Member
    There is some advice here: http://www.macmillan.org.uk/Cancerinformation/Cancertreatment/Treatmenttypes/Radiotherapy/Sideeffects/General.aspx

I know someone who's had cancer and the side effects of the radiotherapy was noticeably less than that of chemotherapy. I hope that helps.

Thanx, already been to MacMillan and Cancer Research sites. :-)
  • RandomSallyRandomSally Posts: 7,068