My boss just said something to me....

NoWireHangersNoWireHangers Posts: 909
Forum Member
✭✭
Had a meeting with my boss yesterday talking about why I hadnt made more money for the company and myself (I work in sales) and he said that he thought it was because I sounded 'too gay on the phone'.

I said that all my life people had judged me on my sexuality and that I didn't need it in the workplace nor was it particularly helpful.

The more I think about the comment the more it's bothering me, am I being over sensitive or has he stepped over a line?

Comments

• Diane_RobDiane_Rob Posts: 1,261
    Forum Member
    ✭✭✭
    This problem won't be of any use to you but I'd probably walk out and leave.

If your services aren't good enough for them, I don't need telling twice.

Having said that, it's all easier said than done. But that is pretty outright of them to say that, I'd be offended too.
  • NoWireHangersNoWireHangers Posts: 909
    Forum Member
    ✭✭
    It's really bothering me.
    Forum Member
    ✭✭✭
    It's really bothering me.

You've got a number of options

-Walk out and be like "i aint taking none of yo' sh*t" (okay admit it, we've all wanted a moment like that :D)

-Talk to him about it, say it offended you.

-Ignore it

-Sabotage the workplace
  • ChipPaperChipPaper Posts: 18,521
    Forum Member
    ✭✭
    Diane_Rob wrote: »
    You've got a number of options

-Walk out and be like "i aint taking none of yo' sh*t" (okay admit it, we've all wanted a moment like that :D)

-Talk to him about it, say it offended you.

-Ignore it

-Sabotage the workplace

-Burn the place to the ground. To the ground, I tell you!
    Forum Member
    ✭✭✭
    ChipPaper wrote: »
    -Burn the place to the ground. To the ground, I tell you!

I think I'd have to agree tbh.

OP you have to treat this situation as if you live in a soap. Sometimes it works, SOMETIMES.
  • RealityRocksRealityRocks Posts: 4,215
    Forum Member
    ✭✭✭