Options

Unseen End of Time

Evil GeniusEvil Genius Posts: 8,903
Forum Member
Okay, after a drunken conversation with a friend regarding the 'reward' of visiting old companions, further elaborated on in that SJA episode to include all of them ever, we got to wondering what they would have been like.

Long & short of it is, I (foolishly) agreed to write a few short stories (despite never having written fiction before) about how some of those encounters may have taken place.

I sat down & wrote the first one this week. Starting, appropriately enough with the very first two - Ian & Barbara. Now I'm sure I read somewhere years ago that someone had written that Ian had ended up at Cambridge & they'd had a son called Christopher. Now if either of those two details are wrong, my bad - you can't expect me to remember something I only glanced over years ago with pinpoint accuracy.

Anyway, bearing in mind it's my first time writing like this, I'm fairly pleased with how it's turned out. I'll probably end up sticking it up on Gally at some point, but DS gets the world premiere (ha-ha), so here goes:

Ian & Barbara

It was a fine Spring afternoon that day in Cambridge. Birds could be heard over the gentle hubbub of the daily market. The elderly couple basked in the sun as they left the marketplace, heading for home, shopping bags bulging.

Ian smiled as he put his arm around his wife's shoulders.

"I think, once the shopping is put away, there is nothing more pressing than spending the day in the garden. Do a spot of weeding then sit back and relax with a glass or two of Pimm's."

Barbara looked at her husband with a smile; "I think it's a little too soon for Pimm's. It's a Summer drink, probably even a law against it," she said playfully.

Ian laughed; "well Summer is only a couple of weeks away. I won't tell the Pimm's Police if you won't."