Parallell Parking

malspiemalspie Posts: 768
Forum Member
✭✭
Has anyone out there got any tips for parallell parking? I have been driving for the past 18 years and consider myself to be an average but careful driver, but just cannot get my head around this parallell parking lark! I have practised but am very aware of the "tut tut, women drivers!" brigade, so just give up. I drive quite a small car, a VW polo with power assisted steering. Any advice gratefully received.

Comments

• Stiffy78Stiffy78 Posts: 26,260
    Forum Member
    ✭✭✭
    You've been driving for 18 years and you can't parallel park? I had to do it on my driving test.

Anyway, a hint my instructor gave me is have a sticker on the middle bottom of your rear window. When the middle of that sticker goes over the curb in your rear view mirror then turn the wheel the other way. It always worked for me.
  • Prince MonaluluPrince Monalulu Posts: 35,900
    Forum Member
    Stiffy78 wrote: »
    You've been driving for 18 years and you can't parallel park? I had to do it on my driving test.

Anyway, a hint my instructor gave me is have a sticker on the middle bottom of your rear window. When the middle of that sticker goes over the curb in your rear view mirror then turn the wheel the other way. It always worked for me.

Yes you'll do it as part of your lessons, possibly on your test, but instructors or examiner will probably pick somewhere where the gaps large and there's little chance of clouting another car.

My instructor had bits of tape in the back window, 3 across the window IIRC.
    IIRC there was something about turning in, winding onto full lock, once you're parallel with the back of the car you're trying to park behind.
    An instructor might turn up and help you out, I can't.
    I can parallel park Vans and large cars easier than the small car I've got now, bulbous ar$e/boot puts my eye off.
  • [Deleted User][Deleted User] Posts: 526
    Forum Member
    ✭✭