is a mini a good first car to buy?

kate36kate36 Posts: 13,715
Forum Member
✭✭
hi im starting to learn to drive again soon, in the next month or so and while it's looking ahead a bit, i wondered if a mini would make a good first car? i've no previous driving experience, im female, 45 and would be looking at used cars as there is no way i could afford a brand new mini!!
any advice welcome
thanks in advance

Comments

• HypnodiscHypnodisc Posts: 22,728
    Forum Member
    ✭✭✭
    Minis are desirable and therefore expensive.. they're also all quite powerful I think for their size and probably more to tax and insure.

Surely for a first car something like a Corsa, Fiesta, Clio, Pug 106 or something would be far cheaper to both buy and run?
  • Rae_RooRae_Roo Posts: 1,185
    Forum Member
    ✭✭✭
    Hypnodisc wrote: »
    Minis are desirable and therefore expensive.. they're also all quite powerful I think for their size and probably more to tax and insure.

Surely for a first car something like a Corsa, Fiesta, Clio, Pug 106 or something would be far cheaper to both buy and run?

I'd agree with this, and certainly would cost you less in parts etc than you'd get with a mini. I also think it's probably more sensible to get used to a 'normal sized' car, minis are tiny, I've driven my friends a few times, and cant believe the spaces I can park in! Great for me, but when my friends driven my car, she's a wreck, it's a standard Peugeot but to her, it's a monster! Lol

Key things will be insurance although you're older so I think you'll pay a little less than an under 25?, but then at 45 money may be less an issue, probably best to test drive a few cars, get experience with different vehicles, you soon find what's most comfortable to drive, the aesthetics are less the issue, IMO.
  • SaddlerSteveSaddlerSteve Posts: 4,325
    Forum Member
    ✭✭✭
    The new Mini isn't really mini anymore. It's not far off the size of cars like the Corsa and Fiesta.