Options

Confused about life after college.

[Deleted User][Deleted User] Posts: 714
Forum Member
✭✭
I'm in my first year at college and I'm really starting to worry about what I'm going to do when I leave.
I'd like to go to university to study some kind of human biology but I just don't know what I want to do. I wanted to be a doctor but people have told me it's a lot of very hard work and that I probably won't cope. I was top of my classes for everything at school but now I'm just mediocre and I've realised that there are so many people that are far more intelligent than I am.
I know that I want to do something to do with human biology (not necessarily human biology itself) but I don't know of many other courses that I could look into, and I'm not really sure where the courses I am aware of could lead me to career-wise. I've looked at the careers library in my college but the majority of it is just about medicine and becoming a physician.
I can't decide whether I'd like to apply to a course in medicine or not. I just keep thinking that if I apply and don't get in to any of the universities then I won't have anywhere to go, but if I don't apply then I could regret it for the rest of my life. I have friends and relatives that are nurses that say they regret not trying to be a doctor (although I think that may have been for money reasons..)
Is anyone here a doctor/at university studying medicine, or does anyone have a job in the field I'm interested in? I'm quite interested in the blood but I don't know what options are available to me or even if there are any.
Any help is appreciated. Sorry if my post is confusing!

Comments

• Options
    Tictac2Tictac2 Posts: 227
    Forum Member
    There are numerous courses in Physiology which may be more suitable. A few universities offer 1st year students who excel at the course a chance to swap to Medicine.