Options

Employee rights

KidPokerKidPoker Posts: 4,294
Forum Member
✭✭✭
I currently work in retail. For people working 8 hour shifts they give only 30 minute breaks.

They have also refused to allow any employee to join a Trade Union. I do not want to join, but know people who do. This is not right. What are our rights here?

Who can we contact about this?

Comments

• Options
    [Deleted User][Deleted User] Posts: 3,068
    Forum Member
    ✭✭✭
    30 Minutes break is acceptable for an 8 hour shift, in fact, legally they could get away with giving you just 20 minutes.

As for joining a union, are they saying that you can't JOIN a union? Or that they don't recognise a union?

They can't stop you from joining a union.
  • Options
    towerstowers Posts: 12,183
    Forum Member
    ✭✭
    KidPoker wrote: »
    I currently work in retail. For people working 8 hour shifts they give only 30 minute breaks.

They have also refused to allow any employee to join a Trade Union. I do not want to join, but know people who do. This is not right. What are our rights here?

Legally, they're aren't breaking the law - you're entitled to 20 minutes break every 6 hours or something like that.

Tesco staff get 60 minutes break in an 8 hour shift, however you don't get paid for your breaks, so it's swings and roundabouts. I'm happier with the generous breaks than the extra bit of pay.
  • Options
    [Deleted User][Deleted User] Posts: 1,941
    Forum Member
    ✭✭✭

Perfectly legal, the break entitlement in fact is only 20 minutes.

As for the trade union thing, they cannot prevent anyone from joining, and I fail to see how they could actually enforce this?!! I think both you and your fellow employees should educate yourself about employee rights. Perhaps speak to ACAS?
  • Options
    walterwhitewalterwhite Posts: 56,919
    Forum Member

They can't stop you joining a Union. Infact, how would they even know you were a member?
  • Options
    [Deleted User][Deleted User] Posts: 48