Has anyone bought a "Moon in a jar"?

Summer-SkiesSummer-Skies Posts: 331
Forum Member
I bought one from Amazon for £13 but it dosent seem to be working.:confused:
Ive left it out in the daylight and when I bring it indoors into a dark room,it flickers blue for a second or two and then nothing.

Am I doing anything wrong apart from possibly buying a dud one??

Comments

• oscardelahoyaoscardelahoya Posts: 4,902
    Forum Member
    ✭✭✭
    If they charge up by sunlight I imagine yours will not be charged up properly if you've only just bought it, unless you live somewhere sunnier than Britain!
  • SigurdSigurd Posts: 26,610
    Forum Member
    ✭✭✭
    I've no experience of the things, but I'd guess it may not be getting enough bright light during the day. From Amazon:
    Remember that the Sun Jars need direct sunshine to work. Leave the Sun Jar outside or in a sunny window in direct sunlight for several hours to charge, (electric light indoors is not bright enough). Bad weather is bad news for Sun Jars. You may find that in winter or cloudy weather your Sun Jar illuminates for less time than normal, or even not at all. This is because your Sun Jar requires the Sun to re-charge.
    http://www.amazon.co.uk/Solar-LED-Jar-changing-powered/dp/B002MDEYUK/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1289519079&sr=8-2

You describe yours as a moon jar, but I'm assuming (maybe wrongly) that's it's a solar light.

PS: You'll probably find it'll work a treat in June — when you don't really need it! :D
  • Summer-SkiesSummer-Skies Posts: 331
    Forum Member
    Sigurd wrote: »
    I've no experience of the things, but I'd guess it may not be getting enough bright light during the day. From Amazon:

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Solar-LED-Jar-changing-powered/dp/B002MDEYUK/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1289519079&sr=8-2

You describe yours as a moon jar, but I'm assuming (maybe wrongly) that's it's a solar light.

PS: You'll probably find it'll work a treat in June — when you don't really need it! :D