Slow Cooker

[Deleted User][Deleted User] Posts: 1,035
Forum Member
✭✭✭
I've just bought a slow cooker and I need some inspiration and recipe ideas. I've never really cooked slowly on the hob or in the oven, so I'm a complete novice.

Any recipes welcome, no matter how basic or fancy they are, thank you :D

Comments

• Michelle_ClarkeMichelle_Clarke Posts: 1,140
    Forum Member
    ✭✭✭
    I do a chinese chicken in mine. I brown off some chicken fillets and chop them up and add a little chinese five spice to them rubbing it all over then i throw them in the slow cooker with some chow mien sauce or a sweet chilli and ginger one add some sweetcorn and mushrooms and leave to cook all day on low.

I also brown off some pork and add some pear cider, apple juice few chunks of apple, mushrooms and peas and some creme freche or cream thats lovely after a few hours.
  • [Deleted User][Deleted User] Posts: 1,035
    Forum Member
    ✭✭✭
    They sound lovely, thank you!
    Forum Member
    ✭✭✭
    They sound lovely, thank you!

The pork is my fav on a rainy sunday :)
  • darkjedimasterdarkjedimaster Posts: 18,621
    Forum Member
    ✭✭
    Slow cookers are great, you can put in a leg of lamb & cook it for about 8 hours, take it out & every bit of meat just slides off the bone. :)

I am making a Chilli hash at the moment

800g minced beef
    2 tins baked beans
    2 packets of chilli powder
    2 finely chopped Scotch Bonnets
    300 grams mushrooms
    Potatoes
    1 onion
    1 and a half can of water.

Method :

Brown off mince & onion to seal, then drain excessive fat. transfer to slow cooker / crock pot.

Add mushrooms, scotch bonnet's, baked beans & water.

Place lid & cook on high until boiling

Add & stir in chilli powder

Place lid & put onto simmer for about 7 hours.

Transfer to oven proof dish & spread over mashed potato, bake until potato has browned off.

Serve with a jug of iced water or beer, as it will blow your head off. :D:D:D