Are cars not required to stop at Zebra Crossings anymore

cantoscantos Posts: 7,368
Forum Member
I am a non driver and in my fifties.

I have noticed over the last few years whilst crossing at a Zebra crossings an increase in cars that just drive straight through. narrowly missing me on a couple of occasions.

Also whereas you used to get "I am sorry' from the driver concerned, recently I seem to get abuse from drivers for having the audacity to cross.

Have the rules changed or has it only always only been a custom.?

Comments

• kitty86kitty86 Posts: 7,034
    Forum Member
    We have one of these crossings outside my work, no one wants to stop. I've been told that it says in the highway code unless they have stepped on to the crossing you don't have to stop- I don't know how true that is and am not prepared to risk my life to find out.
  • bluewomble88bluewomble88 Posts: 2,860
    Forum Member
    ✭✭✭
    As more and more drivers from a wider range of countries infiltrate the roads, our customs are disappearing.
  • JordanT91JordanT91 Posts: 789
    Forum Member
    ✭✭
    You aren't supposed to stop unless the pedestrian steps onto the crossing. I got a minor for that in my test 3 and a bit years ago.
  • Si_CreweSi_Crewe Posts: 40,202
    Forum Member
    kitty86 wrote: »
    We have one of these crossings outside my work, no one wants to stop. I've been told that it says in the highway code unless they have stepped on to the crossing you don't have to stop- I don't know how true that is and am not prepared to risk my life to find out.

I don't know for sure but that's the way I do it.

Must say, I usually stop at ped' crossings when there are people near them but it's surprising how often I stop, only to have a couple of old women who're engaged in conversation turn and look at me like I'm retarded before going back to their chat.

I do wish pedestrians wouldn't stand near crossings unless they ARE actually intent on making use of them.