Options

video editing software help!!

So here's the thing.

I have two pieces of video that i'm trying to edit together.

The problem i have is on the audio of one of videos. When played back (i'm using windows live movie maker) the audio is very faint, to the point that it sounds like a whisper.

When i opened up the same piece of video in VLC player, it played back the same, until i noticed in the audio drop downs that i could change to audio track 2. Suddenly the audio was clear as the proverbial bell! So i know the audio is there...somewhere!

What i'm after then, i guess, is if anyone knows a free piece of editing software that can allow me to access this audio channel so i can edit these two pieces of video together.

I should warn you that i have very little experience in this whole editing malarkey, so i don't think i could handle anything too tekkie.

Any help would be much appreciated!

Comments

• Options
    ZenithZenith Posts: 3,874
    Forum Member
    ✭✭✭
    I use Freemake Video Converter to convert my videos to other formats.

I noticed that when you add a video file, it allows you to select the audio stream. If you select the 2nd audio stream & then save the file in the same format as the original, then I assume that the 2nd audio stream will become the default (although I have never tried this myself).

Make sure the audio stream is the one you want by playing the video in edit mode (you can also do basic editing in this mode).

When saving the file, change it from the default, as I think it will overwrite your original file.

http://www.freemake.com/free_video_converter/
  • Options
    flagpoleflagpole Posts: 44,641
    Forum Member
    what container are the files in like .mp4 or .mkv ?

it's trivial to change the default audio stream, jut need to know a bit more.
  • Options
    [Deleted User][Deleted User] Posts: 690
    Forum Member
    ✭✭