Options

no weigh recipes....

annette kurtenannette kurten Posts: 39,543
Forum Member
i don`t have scales, tablespoons or measuring cups/jug

today i want to make pasta. how far up a standard mug does say 4oz of flour come?

Comments

• Options
    c4rvc4rv Posts: 29,622
    Forum Member
    ✭✭✭
    TBH, I hardly measure ingredients but then again I have been cooking for 20+ years so I know from experience what sort of textures and flavours I am looking for.

If you don't know what pasta dough should feel like then have a look on youtube, there are some pretty good guides on there.

Also you can get a measuring jug for 99p which will also do flour, a worthwhile investment. Also check charity shops for scales, jugs, etc, again should not cost most then 50p or a £1. You also put out a wanted add on your local freecycle group.
  • Options
    Forum Member
    thanks doll.

i don`t normally measure stuff either but i don`t want to be forever adding eggs and flour till i end up with 4kg of pasta:D

i need to visit poundland but i`m skint till next week.

i havn`t done any proper cooking since about 2003.
  • Options
    c4rvc4rv Posts: 29,622
    Forum Member
    ✭✭✭
    thanks doll.

i don`t normally measure stuff either but i don`t want to be forever adding eggs and flour till i end up with 4kg of pasta:D

i need to visit poundland but i`m skint till next week.

i havn`t done any proper cooking since about 2003.

Here is a no-measure pasta making demonstration

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mOX4elz8g-s
  • Options
    Forum Member
    thank you, i had just made my pasta [the same way] before i saw your post.

i wanted to make banana cake and then i realised i havn`t got anything to cook it in :rolleyes:
  • Options
    NewExampleNewExample Posts: 1,196
    Forum Member
    ✭✭✭