Options

Recommondantion for other women with period pain problems

[Deleted User][Deleted User] Posts: 1,990
Forum Member
✭✭✭
Hi
I would just like to offer a recommendation for women who suffer period pains. I have suffered from this since my teens and have regularly been debilitated for upto 4 days every cycle with severe pain. I have been using Agnus Castus (1-2000mg) off and on for the last 3 months and every day since the beginning of March. Some reports I have read have said to stop when you bleed, but I have taken it all the way through for the first time this cycle and can't believe the difference it has made, usually I take 8 500mg paracetomol a day and 3-4 500mg mefenamic acid a day and still suffer. This month so far I have got away with just taking 4 500mg paracetomol and I am on day 2 of a nasty period as I was 2 weeks late.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Vitex_agnus-castus

Comments

• Options
    [Deleted User][Deleted User] Posts: 4,864
    Forum Member
    ✭✭✭
    I always found Ibuprofen and a port & brandy with a hot water bottle did the trick....
  • Options
    FairyFeet1964FairyFeet1964 Posts: 510
    Forum Member
    ✭✭
    Oh bless you, you have my sympathy I suffered the same for years right from when my periods started until after I had my first child. In my case I had very heavy periods, cramping and severe pain on one side, further investigations showed that my womb was tilted or leaning to one side and this apparently was part of my problem. I was also prone to fainting around that time!

Now I am going back a good 20 years here but I do remember I was given Ponstan forte tablets, they worked well for me and did a good job of keeping me more or less human around that time of the month.