Help making elderberry jam please

.Lauren..Lauren. Posts: 7,864
Forum Member
We have one of these in our garden. It's called a Black Beauty elderberry bush.

The berries are ready to be picked and I'd like to make some jam. It's my first time making it and was wondering if anybody had some fool-proof recipes or recipes that you've tried and have really liked. Any tips would be appreciated too.

Thanks.

Comments

• Aarghawasp!Aarghawasp! Posts: 6,205
    Forum Member
    Nice looking plant. :) You could try the River Cottage forums for advice.
  • .Lauren..Lauren. Posts: 7,864
    Forum Member
    I've picked them and destemmed them all today (took forever!) and have frozen them as all the recipes I can find seem to csall for pectin and I don't have any. Will buy some next time I go shopping and get making the jam.

I cut so many off and only ended up with just over a pound of them.
  • [Deleted User][Deleted User] Posts: 2,547
    Forum Member
    ✭✭✭
    you can buy sugar with added pectin in, i think its a tate and lyle one, my husband has recently made two batches of elderberry jam, and he says its lovely!
  • [Deleted User][Deleted User] Posts: 2,547
    Forum Member
    ✭✭✭
  • [Deleted User][Deleted User] Posts: 170
    Forum Member
    you can buy sugar with added pectin in, i think its a tate and lyle one,

It is the tate and lyle one, its called Jam Sugar and states added pectin.

An alternative is to add lemon juice as this is high in pectin
  • smudges dadsmudges dad Posts: 36,989
    Forum Member
    try this site
    http://elderberries.ning.com
    I also find this site goof for chutneys etc
    http://www.allotment.org.uk/
  • [Deleted User][Deleted User] Posts: 7,856
    Forum Member
    Apple is high in pectin too, so if you make elderberry and apple and use a glug of lemon to flavour, you won't need to buy any pectin.