Help me choose a new TV

Help.

Can anyone give me some advice on a good TV that can do the following. I am a TV novice

1. 37-42inch
2. LED (assume this is the best format?)
3. 3d compatible (optional)
4. USB port or ability to play external media such as DivX
5. Possibly part of a package to include DVD player and Glasses

I'm looking at £500-£800 (but this is not restricted, just a guess on what I could expect to pay)

Can anyone help me (or open my eyes to the realities....)

Thank you so much...

Comments

• hardeephardeep Posts: 2,330
    Forum Member
    ✭✭✭
    If you're not fussed about 3D I would suggest that in the price range you are talking about there are probably only 2 to consider

1) The Panasonic TX-P42G20 plasma - Amazon have it for £650, (John Lewis have it at £680 with a 5 year warranty but list it as out of stock but you buy a 5 year warranty from Pansonic for around £90.)
    2) The Sony 40EX503 - John Lewis have it at £700 (with a 5 year warranty)

That should leave you plenty to get the Sony BDP-S370 blu-ray - which can be had for £100 (Play,Tesco, Comet) - to make the most of your new HD panel.

The G20 has a (slightly) better picture quality and FreesatHD; the E503 is a better with regard to online services such as the BBC iPlayer. I'd go for the G20 (but I have both anyway :) )
  • Chris FrostChris Frost Posts: 11,022
    Forum Member
    ✭✭
    There are lots and lots of "spec me" threads here. In fact there's hardly a day goes by without the same question being asked, so there's lots and lots of good and very recent advice already in this forum. Have a look through and see what has already been discussed.

The only things I would add which are specific to your request...

1) 37"-42" - 42" is your best proposition. It's the most competitive market segment: biggest choice & best value.