Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 
 

Got the new EPG, want the old EPG back...


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-05-2009, 19:32
Luke76
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 14

Hello

Not a moan but how it is...

I got the new EPG the other day, I think the look and colours could be a bit more easier on the eye though, they should have kept the sky blue background for instance? What do you think?

Another option I think should be on there is to hide the SD channels which simacast with their HD channel and the HD channel should take the place of the SD channel? I know with a few button pushes you can go to the HD channel but not everyone is a quick or good as the next person.

Oh and I think Sky should bring back the delete promt on the planner in case you delete by mistake!

Considering PC's, Macs, iPhones etc can be peronalised very easy, I don't see why Sky can't do the same with the EPG etc. Can you imagine if you could set the colours and and layout to how you want it? And if there was an option to pay a small amount to download different themes from Sky ( a good money earner for them!) I'm sure Sky would jump to it! I just feel Sky are still behind the times with a lot of things compared to other companies, although the HD side of things is fantastic!

In all I would rather have the old EPG back as I would prefer new functions more than a new layout and some new little features after all the hype that has gone on.

What do you think?

Thanks for reading.
Luke76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 03-05-2009, 19:39
Jarrak
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Ilkeston
Posts: 18,075
Flexibility is not a big issue with SKY, the base hardware spec does not have the overhead for anything beyond the basics and even now the new GUI is pushing the hardware beyond it's capabilities.

Now if they put a CELL processor into a SKY+HD then we may be in business at probably triple the price
Jarrak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2009, 19:43
leedavies
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Cambridge, UK
Posts: 172
Ah, the old delete prompt discussion.

I'm astounded that Sky made a such a gigantic balls-up in the early days of Sky+ by removing the delete confirmation prompt. So many of us have accidentally deleted things from the planner since the prompt was removed.

Sure, some people say they don't want a confirmation prompt. But is it really so hard for Sky to give us the option of having a delete confirmation prompt?
leedavies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2009, 19:49
tiger
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Hull
Posts: 1,507
Ah, the old delete prompt discussion.

I'm astounded that Sky made a such a gigantic balls-up in the early days of Sky+ by removing the delete confirmation prompt. So many of us have accidentally deleted things from the planner since the prompt was removed.

Sure, some people say they don't want a confirmation prompt. But is it really so hard for Sky to give us the option of having a delete confirmation prompt?
I don't have the new planner yet, but isn't there a way round this by either A. marking important stuff 'keep' which produces a promt before deleting. Or B. to be even more secure 'lock' the recording using the right button then the blue button, this means you need the pin to delete.
tiger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2009, 20:14
Luke76
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 14
I don't have the new planner yet, but isn't there a way round this by either A. marking important stuff 'keep' which produces a promt before deleting. Or B. to be even more secure 'lock' the recording using the right button then the blue button, this means you need the pin to delete.

Well yes that is the only options but unfortunately the "keep" buton is right next to the "delete" button??
Luke76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2009, 20:16
HDCriticalFan
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,823
marking important stuff 'keep' which produces a promt before deleting.
But sometimes recordings are made deliberately without the keep (so as to prioritise another which does have a keep). If you have finger trouble before you get around to putting the keep on ...

'lock' the recording using the right button then the blue button, this means you need the pin to delete.
I'm pretty sure that locked recordings requre the PIN to view them ... but not to delete them (yes, I know, pretty bizarre !)
HDCriticalFan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2009, 22:22
Deacon1972
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Yorkshire
Posts: 6,543
Well yes that is the only options but unfortunately the "keep" buton is right next to the "delete" button??
Are you aware you can activate "Keep" on a planned recording?

It's far safer than activating "keep" after it's recorded.

This way if you accidentally hit "yellow" you can always go back into the TV Guide and re-enter the recording, you've lost nothing.

Granted it's not as easy as it was with the old EPG because you are not taken to the planner after an recording is entered, but once you have updated the planner just hit the "green" button and place "keep" on all recent entries.
Deacon1972 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2009, 20:39
leedavies
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Cambridge, UK
Posts: 172
I don't have the new planner yet, but isn't there a way round this by either A. marking important stuff 'keep' which produces a promt before deleting. Or B. to be even more secure 'lock' the recording using the right button then the blue button, this means you need the pin to delete.
Yes, but then old recordings don't get deleted automatically to make space for new stuff.

And all of this is working round a basic deficiency in the EPG - the *option* of having manual deletions confirmed by 1 more button press.
leedavies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2009, 21:30
Armdec
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 68
Yes, but then old recordings don't get deleted automatically to make space for new stuff.

And all of this is working round a basic deficiency in the EPG - the *option* of having manual deletions confirmed by 1 more button press.
And why implement something because you can't arrange/manage your hard disc.
Armdec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2009, 12:56
Luke76
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 14
Well in all I'm going to call Sky tonight and see about going back to the old EPG, it works better for me, lets hope they can do that!

Anyone else going to do the same?
Luke76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2009, 13:01
Paul555
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Cheltenham, Gloucs
Posts: 1,391
Well in all I'm going to call Sky tonight and see about going back to the old EPG, it works better for me, lets hope they can do that!

Anyone else going to do the same?
Save your money, they won't let you go back.

I always have Keep on anything and require a pin to delete. This is setup in the options somewhere. Works for me. If you have keep on a series link then all subsequent recordings are set as keep too if that helps anyone.

I personally like the new EPG so I will keep it please. It's not without it annoyances though as we all know.
Paul555 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2009, 13:03
jedi matt
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Chester-le-Street Co Durham UK
Posts: 654
Well in all I'm going to call Sky tonight and see about going back to the old EPG, it works better for me, lets hope they can do that!

Anyone else going to do the same?
No i am not & no sky wont turn the old EPG back on as this is the ground work for things to come.
jedi matt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2009, 13:06
Daveoc64
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Bristol (BBC1 West)
Posts: 14,895
Well in all I'm going to call Sky tonight and see about going back to the old EPG, it works better for me, lets hope they can do that!

Anyone else going to do the same?
They wont be able to do that.

They need all boxes running on the same version of the software.

If you didn't upgrade the software on the box (assuming you could find a way) then you'd run into problems down the line. New channels wouldn't show up on the EPG, your viewing card would stop being updated etc.

As for me, I wouldn't go back to the old EPG even if I could.
Daveoc64 is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2009, 14:45
bobcar
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 12,032
Flexibility is not a big issue with SKY, the base hardware spec does not have the overhead for anything beyond the basics and even now the new GUI is pushing the hardware beyond it's capabilities.

Now if they put a CELL processor into a SKY+HD then we may be in business at probably triple the price
To be fair though adding some configurability would not add anything on to the overheads providing the correct things were chosen to be configurable. Such things would include confirm before delete and background colours.
bobcar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2009, 14:53
Dr. Jan Itor
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Sacred Heart
Posts: 3,177
Hello

Not a moan but how it is...

I got the new EPG the other day, I think the look and colours could be a bit more easier on the eye though, they should have kept the sky blue background for instance? What do you think?

Another option I think should be on there is to hide the SD channels which simacast with their HD channel and the HD channel should take the place of the SD channel? I know with a few button pushes you can go to the HD channel but not everyone is a quick or good as the next person.

Oh and I think Sky should bring back the delete promt on the planner in case you delete by mistake!

Considering PC's, Macs, iPhones etc can be peronalised very easy, I don't see why Sky can't do the same with the EPG etc. Can you imagine if you could set the colours and and layout to how you want it? And if there was an option to pay a small amount to download different themes from Sky ( a good money earner for them!) I'm sure Sky would jump to it! I just feel Sky are still behind the times with a lot of things compared to other companies, although the HD side of things is fantastic!

In all I would rather have the old EPG back as I would prefer new functions more than a new layout and some new little features after all the hype that has gone on.

What do you think?

Thanks for reading.
Apart from the colour scheme all of your complaints are about features which were not included in the old EPG, or at least not recently. Going back would not change any of these things (apart from the shade of blue), so I can't see why you want to go back based on what you have said. I agree they could have introduced more new features, including some you have suggested, but overall I think it's an improvement.
Dr. Jan Itor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2009, 17:27
Luke76
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 14
It's not a complaint, just my thought's. I know the features I talk about are not in the old EPG but the reason I would want to go back to the old EPG is because it is easier to navigate (menu number wise), it makes me sound like an old man talking like this but it's not easier or as easy as the old EPG.

oh well.
Luke76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2009, 18:35
Dr. Jan Itor
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Sacred Heart
Posts: 3,177
It's not a complaint, just my thought's. I know the features I talk about are not in the old EPG but the reason I would want to go back to the old EPG is because it is easier to navigate (menu number wise), it makes me sound like an old man talking like this but it's not easier or as easy as the old EPG.

oh well.
Sorry, I could have used a better word than complaint. I meant no offence.
Dr. Jan Itor is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:09.