Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

BT NetProtect Plus replacing Norton Anti-Virus


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-06-2009, 09:22
BT Support
BT Support
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 459

Norton Anti-Virus and Firewall from BT Yahoo! is being replaced by BT NetProtect Plus. If you're a BT Total Broadband Option 2 or 3 customer and you're using Norton, you must download the new service now. If you donít download it by 30th June when the service stops, your PC will be left unprotected from online viruses and other threats. See here: http://www.bt.com/netprotectplus
BT Support is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 12-06-2009, 23:28
noise747
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Herefordshire
Posts: 17,232
Just a shame that it don't support 64 bit Os.
noise747 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-06-2009, 20:06
Ardee
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 121
I was using the earlier BT supplied Computer Associates security package and hardly knew it was there. The bloated McAfee replacement causes everything to grind to a halt whenever it does anything. It has got to the stage where I am tempted to do without it. BT does not seem to have given any consideration at all to those customers who do not have high spec PC's.

Is there any alternative AV software out there which will just give good basic protection without hogging the processor?
Ardee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-06-2009, 20:25
ney
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Scotland, Dunfermline Area
Posts: 9,087
I was using the earlier BT supplied Computer Associates security package and hardly knew it was there. The bloated McAfee replacement causes everything to grind to a halt whenever it does anything. It has got to the stage where I am tempted to do without it. BT does not seem to have given any consideration at all to those customers who do not have high spec PC's.

Is there any alternative AV software out there which will just give good basic protection without hogging the processor?
The new McAfee stuff from BT is ok but like you whenever it dose a full scan my IE seems to jam for a second or to once in a while.
I know a few that use the free AVG but that dont come with a firewall. I had AVG on my old PC before I got the Dell PC im using the now just over 3 years ago and moved to BT broadband and tane the free BT stuff.
some say get the free Zone alram for firewalll but I was not to impressed with Zome Alarm the sort while I had it on my old PC was it just to jam my old Pc for 2 or 3 seconds whenever it poped up a warning.
My old PC did end up having one or two minor problems just before I got the Dell PC im using the now in the Dell sale just over 3 years ago with 15% of the price and I also came with free delivery and an 18 months interest free option witch I tane and 16months free Norton anti-virus/Firewall that was up over 14 months ago. Also came with Microsoft works 7.5.

Darren
ney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-06-2009, 07:10
davews
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Bracknell
Posts: 147
Avast (free) for AV does an excellent job with very low computer overhead. For firewall, if you are behind a router then Windows Firewall is adequate, but there are plenty of alternatives. Here I use the old Sygate - now discontinued after they were taken over by Symantec - it does everything I need and will work fine on that old PC. Do a Google to find where to download. Unless of course you need the parental controls part of the BT package - for which there are also alternatives.

But as others have indicated, this change to McAfee is a non event for most of us, there are far better things around.
davews is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-06-2009, 11:17
Old Man 43
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 4,743
Norton Anti-Virus and Firewall from BT Yahoo! is being replaced by BT NetProtect Plus. If you're a BT Total Broadband Option 2 or 3 customer and you're using Norton, you must download the new service now. If you donít download it by 30th June when the service stops, your PC will be left unprotected from online viruses and other threats. See here: http://www.bt.com/netprotectplus
I already subscribe to Norton IS separately from BT and I donít want to change. I assume that this will not be a problem.

The only question that I have is how do I stop the constant reminders to change to the McAfee software.
Old Man 43 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-06-2009, 23:16
sub4ux4
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 1,648
loads of better av and firewalls out there free and as for pop up blockers well take your pick anything from adblock to google and all point inbetween , bt must be living in the past .
sub4ux4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2009, 16:44
Keno
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Middlesbrough
Posts: 11
hi about this anti virus i have had it since it came out the net protect plus (McAfee Security Center)it has been fine up untill now the problen is i want to do a scan and it wont let me there is just a brank white screen that says refresh this page but there is no way to do that

can you help me please thanks in advance
Keno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2009, 17:54
Ardee
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 121
I got rid of McAfee and am trying Avast, which has restored the PC to normal working. AVG free seems to be just as bloated and slow as the others now.
Ardee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2009, 18:44
paulgee
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 112
I got rid of McAfee and am trying Avast, which has restored the PC to normal working. AVG free seems to be just as bloated and slow as the others now.
me too, much better anti virus control
paulgee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2009, 08:13
BT Support
BT Support
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 459
If you are still having problems running the scan, PM me your details and I will look into this.
BT Support is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2009, 09:22
Ardee
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 121
If you are still having problems running the scan, PM me your details and I will look into this.
If this message is for me, the answer is that I am having no problems at all with Avast. McAfee slowed everything from mail download to browser startup whether it was doing a scan or not. I am, of course, annoyed at still having to pay for McAfee as part of the BT package.
Ardee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2009, 09:52
BT Support
BT Support
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 459
Hi Ardee, the post before was meant for Keno. I am clad to hear that you are happy with the AV you are currently running. The McAfee security is free security package BT has included with our Broadband. This is not something we charge extra for. Like most software out there it is up to end user what they decide to use.

David

BT Support
BT Support is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2009, 10:26
mickbirch2000
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 708
Norton Anti-Virus and Firewall from BT Yahoo! is being replaced by BT NetProtect Plus. If you're a BT Total Broadband Option 2 or 3 customer and you're using Norton, you must download the new service now. If you donít download it by 30th June when the service stops, your PC will be left unprotected from online viruses and other threats. See here: http://www.bt.com/netprotectplus
Looks like another reason to stay clear of bundled AV & use one of the excellent free ones, at least the danger of your PC being left unprotected is down to yourself & not some company decision. BT/Yahoo do seem to change their security packages more often than is really necessary....
mickbirch2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2009, 13:16
WokStation
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 21,512
I wonder how many people will simply think it's over their heads, not act and be left defenceless by this? Afterall, BT is the default option for many older people, it's what they know and they often have a misguided sense of customer loyalty (this myth that if you stay with a company and be loyal to them, they will be loyal to you) - as a result I'd be willing to be there's a larger number of technically-illiterate people using BT than most other ISPs.

I can just imagine certain grannies going "what's this? Oh, too much bother!"...
WokStation is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-07-2009, 18:01
seanf
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,408
BT support, not 2 words I would use in one sentence.(sorry)

But I'm happy with the new anti virus, but since I can't connect to the internetyet again i dont think I'm at risk of a virus.
seanf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-07-2009, 14:05
BT Support
BT Support
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 459
Hi seanf,

I have send you a PM, if you reply to this with your BT account information. I will be happy to take a look at this for you.

Thanks

Patrick

BT Support,
BT Support is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2009, 16:21
mersey70
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 4,985
Hi, I recently upgraded from BT Option 1 to 3 so I have only recently installed the BT Net Protect Software, it took an age to download but seems no slower than the PC Tools/Windows Firewall software I was previously using. I only have a Celeron D PC so I am quite pleased.
mersey70 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-08-2009, 05:11
Aspartame
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Greenock, Scotland
Posts: 8,973
How do you change the time when it does it's weekly virus scan? It's at a very inconvenient time for me, and I have to cancel it every time.
Aspartame is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-08-2009, 17:47
BT Support
BT Support
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 459
Hi Aspartame,

If you click on the program icon at the bottom of your screen this will open the program and you can change your settings from there to a scan time of your choice. Failing that go into the help menu at the top of the program.

Many Thanks
Donna
BT Support
BT Support is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-08-2009, 00:18
Aspartame
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Greenock, Scotland
Posts: 8,973
Hi Aspartame,

If you click on the program icon at the bottom of your screen this will open the program and you can change your settings from there to a scan time of your choice. Failing that go into the help menu at the top of the program.

Many Thanks
Donna
BT Support
Not quite sure exactly what you mean, but it's ok I finally worked it out for myself after some time digging through all the menus.

By the way the help for McAfee Security Center is worse than useless here. It looks like the menus were changed enough in customising it into BT NetProtect Plus that the documentation no longer matches at all.
Aspartame is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-08-2009, 11:39
Old Man 43
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 4,743
I have a problem. The reminder to upgrade to the new software keeps popping up when I boot up my machine or open my browser. The problem is that I already subscribe independently to Norton Internet Security and I donít want to change.

How do I stop the reminder popping up?
Old Man 43 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2009, 09:13
gianni
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Londinium
Posts: 417

Toshiba laptop running Windows XP:

After installing Mcafee I had terrible response time problems. I had succesfully installed using the full BT deinstall/install pack and followed the instructions to the letter.

Eventually called "BT support" who stated (really!) that it was not their software causing the response problems and that they were caused by another problem that had appeared at the exact moment I had installed the new software! They then offered me a premium service whereby they would charge me for checking the installation and the health of my machine. Alternatively they would uninstall Mcafee as it was free and wasn't a service they had to provide service for! What does premium mean?

I declined.

To be fair to BT a supervisor rang back a couple of times to try and sort it after I had made my opinions of their service clear when I declined their offer.

Did some further research myself and watched the Task Manager on start-up.

It appears that the software provided by BT to unload Norton/Symantec doesn't work. It leaves the task which pages for Symantec updates every four hours in place.

I removed the task (LU something) from the Task Manager, removed the scheduler/controller from the control panel, deleted all the Norton software and finally had to delete yet another task which prevented deleting a couple of exes and dlls.

I have now been running without the legacy Norton stuff for about a week, running Mcafee full scans every day just in case.

The performance problems have gone, everything is quicker and slicker.

Try this at your own risk.

Mcafee still runs like a dog and still has an appalling user interface. It is also buggy, e.g. if you set "shut down if no errors found on full scan", it stays booted about two times in three. And it has let a piece of spyware through which attacked my registry though it did beat it to death afterwards.

Shame BT (well its Yahoo really isn't it?) didn't provide the correct software and then provide proper post installation support.
gianni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2009, 15:13
BT Support
BT Support
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 459
Hi Gianni,

I does sound like the problem you had with the response time was down to the Norton anti virus not being removed correctly if you try this link,

Click Here

You will find a link to our support section where you can find some advise on how to get around this issue.

Thanks

Patrick
BT Support is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2009, 20:38
gianni
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Londinium
Posts: 417
Thank-you BT Support.

The removal software didn't report an error, I had to find it myself.

The call centre team would not even admit there was a problem.

I appreciate your contribution here but I am paying the country's largest ISP for a professional service, we are beyond the cottage industry, all hands in to help business model aren't we?
gianni is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:16.