Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 
 

BT NetProtect Plus replacing Norton Anti-Virus


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-09-2009, 09:00
BT Support
BT Support
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 459
Hi Gianni, if you do come across any more problems or if there's anything you need help with let me know and I will look into it for you.

Cheers

Shane

BT Support.
BT Support is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 26-10-2009, 12:49
Moradin
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 150
For anyone reading this thread... do yourself a favour..

Don't install anything BT insist upon. do the research on the web yourself. these muppets haven't a clue.
Moradin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-01-2010, 16:12
PeterB
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 9,343
Hi Gianni,

I does sound like the problem you had with the response time was down to the Norton anti virus not being removed correctly if you try this link,

Click Here

You will find a link to our support section where you can find some advise on how to get around this issue.

Thanks

Patrick
Link says:

Warning: Invalid argument supplied for foreach() in /cgi-bin/bt.cfg/scripts/enduser/cci/bt_navmenu.php on line 59
Error. Please try again later
PeterB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-01-2010, 14:18
BT Support
BT Support
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 459

Hey PeterB

Sorry the link isnít working. Try this instead; http://tiny.cc/vJhBE

Thanks

Fionnuala
BT Support is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-02-2010, 14:16
seanf
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,237
Just had to do a windows re-install and have found that I am now unable to download and install Net protect plus?
I have had an email with the code to get the free download but when I accept the End user licencse, I get to a page that says

The page cannot be displayed (500-100)
There has been a system error and this page is not currently available. McAfee.com Technical Support has been notified of the problem.

Please check back again later. If the problem has not resolved, please contact McAfee.com Customer Support.

What are you looking for at McAfee?
McAfee Homepage
McAfee Service Information
Support
Return to the Previous Page
seanf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-02-2010, 18:14
flashgordon1952
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: brentwood essex
Posts: 3,634

i gather there has been question marks on the security of the system (wireless) and there has been serious bleed over in range of there wireless networks.
one person i know says he was getting serious problems with BT wireless and the lack of security meant that illegal users was useing his wireless BT connection.
I gather BT claim that they have plunged up the problem with a new "wall" which is they claim more secure ?
mmmm claims are one thing proof is another.
flashgordon1952 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-07-2010, 15:36
chrisj59
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 8

Does this software support Windows 7 64 bit?
chrisj59 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2010, 18:31
ney
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Scotland, Dunfermline Area
Posts: 9,059
After an update last night I now see that BT Netprotect McAfee now has a new look.
Dose this mean that BT has given us all a new verson of McAfee.

Darren
ney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-08-2010, 00:26
-GONZO-
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Kent
Posts: 7,665
Does anyone else find that BT Netprotect McAfee makes your PC run a little slow?
-GONZO- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-08-2010, 22:35
SATDUDE
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Island of Fetlar
Posts: 1,047
Used Mcafee for about fourteen years always protected my PC and even been on the Beta test and I was glad that BT went in that direction good move.

Regards Satdude.
SATDUDE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2010, 11:14
Moany Liza
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 6,711
Does anyone else find that BT Netprotect McAfee makes your PC run a little slow?
Not particularly, but it has allowed viruses to infect my laptop on three different occasions the past 6 months.
Moany Liza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2010, 12:27
roland69
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Manchester, U.K
Posts: 323
Does anyone else find that BT Netprotect McAfee makes your PC run a little slow?
Mine went really slow when i installed it, i uninstalled it and went back to using the Microsoft security essentials
roland69 is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 20-08-2011, 15:13
ib1-2
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Tamworth
Posts: 180
Mine went really slow when i installed it, i uninstalled it and went back to using the Microsoft security essentials
Ditto. I'm sticking with essentials. I've never got on with Norton, McAfee they always slow things to a crawl. I used Kasperski for a long time but that got a bit bloated as well.

Occasionally I will have a purge and scan using different programmes as some pickup things others miss. And I never use the Windows firewall as the routers own firewall should do the job just as well.
ib1-2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-08-2011, 18:41
Ardee
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 121
I lost confidence in NetProtect when it allowed a trojan (which had been around for months) into a friend's PC. It then prevented the running of the commands necessary to remove the trojan. There is no way to create a bootable recovery CD and support was non-existent.

Security Essentials is excellent..
Ardee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2011, 19:49
JeffG1
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Newbury
Posts: 4,783
Looks like this thread has answered the question I was going to ask - is it worth installing BT NetProtect Plus which I can get for free with BT Infinity.

The answer seems to be a resounding no. I think I'll stick with Avast, thank you very much.

Seems a bit cheeky BT saying my PC is not protected until I download this - how do they know what I have installed already?
JeffG1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-09-2011, 13:55
plankwalker
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 2,558
Looks like this thread has answered the question I was going to ask - is it worth installing BT NetProtect Plus which I can get for free with BT Infinity.

The answer seems to be a resounding no. I think I'll stick with Avast, thank you very much.

Seems a bit cheeky BT saying my PC is not protected until I download this - how do they know what I have installed already?
Whatever their reasons (monitor you?), it makes sense to a provider of any service or product, to bind you to their company so they can more likely keep you. These "added value" things are sometimes worthwhile, so I wouldn't knock everything given supposedly free.
plankwalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-09-2011, 14:25
Mike_1101
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Lancs
Posts: 6,255
Looks like this thread has answered the question I was going to ask - is it worth installing BT NetProtect Plus which I can get for free with BT Infinity.

The answer seems to be a resounding no. I think I'll stick with Avast, thank you very much.

Seems a bit cheeky BT saying my PC is not protected until I download this - how do they know what I have installed already?
I think i will too, I worked until recently for an organisation with McAfee installed on the PCs, it took them 5 minutes to boot up - even after a re-build.

I've not heard many good things about McAfee.
Mike_1101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-02-2012, 18:43
battlezone
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Oxford (formally Newcastle)
Posts: 1,794
Does this software support Windows 7 64 bit?
Got it on my W7 64 bit Laptop.
battlezone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2012, 11:40
kelly_jones1206
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 4

After installing BT Net Protect Plus for free, it has reduced my laptop to such a crawl that I cannot even get the simplest of tasks done (I have to beg to use a friend's computer now)

I also was instructed upon install to delete all Norton programmes and files and now I got nothing that can be used at all.

BT were absolutely no help over the telephone insisting this is actually my fault (or my laptop's)
Funny how it was working perfectly well when the BT engineer came to set up Infinity and now one day later after installing Net Protect Plus this happens........I am distraught!
kelly_jones1206 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2012, 13:05
kelly_jones1206
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 4

can anyone advise me what to do please?

is it as simple as just un-installing BT Net Protect Plus?
I won't have any AV software then (they caused me to delete my Norton files)
kelly_jones1206 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2012, 15:11
platelet
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: GL51 0EX
Posts: 6,757
can anyone advise me what to do please?

is it as simple as just un-installing BT Net Protect Plus?
I won't have any AV software then (they caused me to delete my Norton files)
For the record, it's not you or your laptop - it's crap software.

I abandoned Net Protect Plus for the same performance reasons and just use MSE. Assuming your PC is running windows, and it's a genuine version of windows not a pirate copy then I'd just stick with that.

There are many threads here already debating the different anti virus packages so if you want to work out which is "best" then I'd look through those, but I've had no problems with MSE.

It's not the performance hog that net protect Plus(McAffee) is and it's still free

http://windows.microsoft.com/en-GB/w...ity-essentials

so
1) download the right version of MSE for your PC (either 32 or 64 bit) <<how to tell>>
2) uninstall netprotect plus
3) reboot
4) ignore all the whining messages about your PC being unprotected
5) install Microsoft Security Essentials
6) Run a full scan (this will take a while) and set up a schedule so it scans once a week say. You can limit the CPU use it will take via the settings, so that the scan doesn't slow you down - but obviously that will make the scan take longer.

From what I recall Net Protect plus leaves behind the browser plug in (bit that adds the warning about dodgy sites) - and you'll need to uninstall that (if you want it gone) manually from your browser add ins / extensions, though it's no big issue either way
platelet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2012, 19:26
kelly_jones1206
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 4

I really needed a simple explanation.
Will attempt to do this on Sunday and get back to you with a report.
kelly_jones1206 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-04-2012, 20:35
culttvfan
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 614
I got rid of McAfee and am trying Avast, which has restored the PC to normal working. AVG free seems to be just as bloated and slow as the others now.
Very sensible. A free combo such as Avast, a great firewall like Comodo, and Malwarebytes on demand scanner, will knock spots off Norton and McAfee, and won't slow your PC down.
culttvfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-04-2012, 22:32
laserline
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 48

I took platelets advise and deleted netplus and I cant beleive the difference
my comp running a lot smoother now
Laserline
laserline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2012, 11:52
platelet
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: GL51 0EX
Posts: 6,757
I took platelets advise and deleted netplus and I cant beleive the difference
my comp running a lot smoother now
Laserline
glad to help
platelet is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:23.