Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

Using GHD hair straighteners in America - will they work?


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 25-06-2009, 10:58
Shappy
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: By the window
Posts: 10,843

I'm going on holiday to Canada and America tomorrow. I want to take my GHD's with me, but afraid it might not work. Has anyone tried their UK bought ones over there? Is there some kind of voltage adaptor/converter I can buy?
Shappy is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 25-06-2009, 11:00
PamelaL
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Worcestershire
Posts: 59,788
You'll need to buy a US plug. You can get them in most electrical stores or at the airport.
PamelaL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-06-2009, 11:04
Mr Obseen
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Far Far Away
Posts: 1,749
http://www.amazon.co.uk/UK-US-Americ...5924529&sr=1-2


This would work im sure.
Mr Obseen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-06-2009, 11:14
dollylovesshoes
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: East London
Posts: 14,233
I've got GHD's and I went to America earlier this year, I emailed GHD and they said my straightners WOULD not work only their latest ones will work as they have dual voltage.

See below email that was sent to me



The only GHD that will work within the USA are the IV (MK4) Model, as they are dual voltage for international use.


Kind regards
Exclusive Brands
dollylovesshoes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-06-2009, 11:15
sazzleperkins
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Boing Boing! Boing Boing!
Posts: 2,865
They won't get as hot as usual over there. Something to do with the Americans using a lower voltage than us.

It has been debated a lot on the Dibb - www.thedibb.co.uk. Have a look and search the forums there for more advice.
sazzleperkins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-06-2009, 11:27
joo-joo
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 768
As a previous poster said, the IV ones will work normally in America as long as you have an adaptor plug. If the ones you have are not dual voltage then they won't heat up properly and will be virtually useless.

I have an older model of GHDs and I couldn't afford to fork out for a new pair, so I just got the cheapest dual voltage straighteners i could find. They were 20 and worked a treat so I just use those when I'm on holiday.
joo-joo is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 25-06-2009, 12:07
Shappy
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: By the window
Posts: 10,843
Thanks for all the advice. I actually do have the IV version so hopefully it'll work if I buy an adaptor.
Shappy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-06-2009, 14:14
Sonic Dave
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 4,672
The electricity in Europe, Australia and UK is 220-250volts, while the electricity supply in US/Canada and possibly Japan is 110v, the elements may not warm up at all or get slightly warm, but if you have dual voltage straighteners thats fine.
Sonic Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-06-2009, 16:09
*Ratbag*
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 189
Thanks for all the advice. I actually do have the IV version so hopefully it'll work if I buy an adaptor.
I have the IV and they have worked for the last 2 years without any problem at all in the US, they just take slightly longer to heat up.
*Ratbag* is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-06-2009, 17:09
Lily_2008
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: North London
Posts: 2,271
I have the IV and they have worked for the last 2 years without any problem at all in the US, they just take slightly longer to heat up.
That's what I have found when I have been on holiday to the US too, but yeah, they work without a problem as long as you buy an adaptor
Lily_2008 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-06-2009, 17:13
mourinhosmissus
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: London
Posts: 4,115
My GHDs have a 2-pin plug inside the 3-pin one, so if yours are the same, then I assume they'll work.

Last edited by mourinhosmissus : 25-06-2009 at 17:14. Reason: Too many pins!
mourinhosmissus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-06-2009, 17:22
Glen
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Inverness
Posts: 11,726
Thanks for all the advice. I actually do have the IV version so hopefully it'll work if I buy an adaptor.
The appliance will tell you on it what the input voltage is.
If it is dual voltage it will say "100-240V AC 50/60Hz" and it will work on both European 230V 50Hz and North American 110V 60Hz supplies.

If it says only 230V 50Hz (or similar) it is designed to work on supplies in Europe, Africa and Asia, but not N America. So it may not work at all or not work properly.
Something relatively low tech like a heating element probably will do something on a 110V supply but probably won't get as hot as it would on the correct voltage.
Glen is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:03.