Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

Will Region 1 DVD's play on my UK PS3?


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 13-09-2009, 16:26
bazellis
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 5,263

I want to order season 4 & 5 of the US Office, but they're only available from the States in Region 1 format.
Will I be able to play them on my UK bought PS3?
bazellis is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 13-09-2009, 18:16
Wash
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,941
Afraid not. The UK PS3 will only do R2 DVDs.
Wash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-09-2009, 18:27
Spiderpig
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 2,228
Do not get it chipped as the guarantee may be made void.
Spiderpig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-09-2009, 19:37
Wash
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,941
Do not get it chipped as the guarantee may be made void.
Can't chip the PS3 anyway.
Wash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-09-2009, 20:18
Deacon1972
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Yorkshire
Posts: 6,700
Buy yourself a 20-25 player from Tesco/Asda, most come multiregion out of the box, if not they can normally be made multiregion via a remote hack.

If you want to check the make/model before you buy DVD reviewer has a good database.

http://www.dvd.reviewer.co.uk/info/m...n/hackable.asp
Deacon1972 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-09-2009, 22:49
Chris Frost
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Cheshire
Posts: 4,701
^^^ or better still, buy a decent quality s/h DVD player and leave the cheap sh1t DVD players on the shelf at Tesco for the muppets.

For 100 I bought a Denon 2900 that was a top of the range player a few short years ago. It would have cost 700+ when new. It's built like a battleship and makes a damned good CD player too.

My Denon is probably OTT for anyone looking for a "casual use" player, but have a look at this Pioneer for 35 delivered. There's a world of possibilities out there.
Chris Frost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-09-2009, 12:13
Fatwaz
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Essex
Posts: 1,991
what i have done cos i have a lot of region 1 dvd's is use something called dvd43 on my lappie.then i put the the region 1 disc into the laptop and dvd 43 disables the coding on the fly enabling it to play on laptop and i then either watch via laptop to tv or burn a region free version onto a dvdrw and can watch it on whatever i like(ps3/portable dvd player/pc)
Fatwaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-09-2009, 13:06
Pugwash69
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: The Sticks
Posts: 3,717
My Pioneer DVD player has a firmware hack for region 0, but if your existing player hasn't, you may as well get a cheap player. There's nothing wrong with them for the money!
Pugwash69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-09-2009, 14:42
justpootling
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 2,984
Just a thought, but does the Region X memory card slot plugin card for the PS2 work with the PS3?
justpootling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-09-2009, 15:01
DPM9876
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 716
Just a thought, but does the Region X memory card slot plugin card for the PS2 work with the PS3?
No, the PS3 doesn't have any PS2 memory card slots.
DPM9876 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2010, 12:54
The Alpha Gamer
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 3,004
Afraid not. The UK PS3 will only do R2 DVDs.
Hate to necro a thread but i need to know too, and my UK PS3 can play Region 4's...
The Alpha Gamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2010, 17:36
DNZ711
Guest
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 722
Apparantly R2 and R4 (Australia) have the same coding restrictions. Also I have heared that the sony have not as yet adopted any coding restrictions on Blu-Ray. I know us games play fine from experience.
DNZ711 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2010, 21:09
hotdiggity1
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 1,378
Hate to necro a thread but i need to know too, and my UK PS3 can play Region 4's...
No it can't.
Some Australian dvd's are Region 4 only and your PS3 will not play them

Apparantly R2 and R4 (Australia) have the same coding restrictions. Also I have heared that the sony have not as yet adopted any coding restrictions on Blu-Ray. I know us games play fine from experience.
Games are separate.

The only common thing between R2 and R4 discs is that they are in the PAL format.
But although most BBC and Universal dvd's are dual coded nobody else does.

I have several Australian dvd's that are R4 only like the Space 1999 season 2 boxset and the Dr Who and The Daleks movie double bills.

Classic tv fans should note that releases from Umbrella are region free although most Oz websites will list them as R4.

A few US dvd's will be region 0 but the number is very few.
Who release The Office in the US.
If its Warner you might be lucky.
Many of their tv and animation titles are not region free but are coded for more than one region.
Their Hanna Barbera releases often cover R1 ,R2,R3,R4 and combinations of those regions.
Warners dvd's of The OC are coded for R2 also

Bluray does have region coding but instead of 6 regions like dvd it is 3 regions only.

The UK is Region B and so is Australia , so while Oz dvd's are not guaranteed to play even region coded Oz Blurays will.

More than 75% of Bluray releases are region free but unless you invest in multiregion Bluray player you should check websites that will confirm if a title is region free.

Fans of The Criterion Collection should note that their Bluray releases are all locked to Region A .

And don't assume that if a UK release is region free that the US disc of the same movie will be also.

None of the Bond discs are region free in the US
hotdiggity1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2010, 21:38
d'@ve
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Darn Sarf
Posts: 20,870
I want to order season 4 & 5 of the US Office, but they're only available from the States in Region 1 format.
Will I be able to play them on my UK bought PS3?
Why would anyone want to buy R1 DVDs anyway? Not for quality reasons that's for sure, 480 lines vertical resolution? They can keep 'em!

I suppose if that's all you can get and you have to have the series, you might put up with it but in that case, get the cheap DVD player mentioned above, not an expensive one.
d'@ve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2010, 21:49
hotdiggity1
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 1,378
Why would anyone want to buy R1 DVDs anyway? .
Titles not out in the UK

Cheaper prices

Uncut films

Better soundtrack

Additional extras

Correct speed/ correct audio pitch

Earlier releases.

Play a R1 dvd via HDMI to your HD tv and you'll be hard pushed to spot the difference between that and a R2.

Some shows were made in 525 so a native NTSC dvd looks just as good as one thats been converted to 625 (although this does not apply to The Office)
hotdiggity1 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 00:56.