Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 
 

Sky Picnic sagem mpeg4 box for sale in currys


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 18-09-2009, 14:38
antenna1
Guest
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 325

I was looking in currys yesterday and in with the freeview receivers they had some sagem itd81 picnic ready mpeg 2&4 dvb-t receivers for sales on the on the box it said picnic ready with picnic on them in the picnic sky font with the light blue picnic background here is the logo on the box i had seen http://www.techdigest.tv/picnic-thumb.jpg, But the odd thing was that where it said sky on them it seems it was blacked out on the card board box with light blue stickers over them , Any one know what is going on with this i thought pinic was scraped.

It has got it listed on the currys site http://www.currys.co.uk/martprd/stor...show_all=true# but the one in store yesterday looking nothing like the one on the site it was the shape of a normal receiver and had a card slot here is the one i had seen in store http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/attac...-picnicbox.jpg.
antenna1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 18-09-2009, 14:48
Ray Cathode
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Guildford / Crystal Palace
Posts: 13,114
How much are they? Should be a good historical item. Ooo 20, too much for an obsolete box.

I expect that signals the finale of the Picnic saga. With $ky at war with Ofcon, there isn't the slightest possibility of the project going ahead now. Indeed $ky has just released a sixth stream on Mux C/ARQ A for price-drop tv. I wonder where they kept 100,000 Picnic boxes?
Ray Cathode is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 18-09-2009, 14:50
antenna1
Guest
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 325
I could not see a price on them in currys and no staff where on the shop floor just one guy selling a cooker to a woman on the currys site it is prices at 19.99 i wonder if it has seca or nds card slot i might buy one if they are 19.99


How much are they? Should be a good historical item.

I expect that signals the finale of the Picnic saga. With $ky at war with Ofcon, there isn't the slightest possibility of the project going ahead now. Indeed $ky has just released a sixth stream on Mux C/ARQ A for price-drop tv. I wonder where they kept 100,000 Picnic boxes?
antenna1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-09-2009, 15:01
linkinpark875
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 21,744
The boxes look awful so are these actually MPEG4? I would good for the future but the new HD transmissions are DVB-T2?

Worthless peace of kit basically prototypes being sold off. Still price drops a waste of space I'd rather Picnic was cancelled and Sky offered Sky Sports 1 on Top Up TV along with ESPN.
linkinpark875 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-09-2009, 15:07
antenna1
Guest
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 325
Yes it said on the box mpeg 2 / 4 but not dvb-t2 the box only has two scart sockets

I dont not think these where prototypes but full working models with nds or seca card slot. not sure which one,

Any one pasisng currys should take a look,

The boxes look awful so are these actually MPEG4? I would good for the future but the new HD transmissions are DVB-T2?

Worthless peace of kit basically prototypes being sold off. Still price drops a waste of space I'd rather Picnic was cancelled and Sky offered Sky Sports 1 on Top Up TV along with ESPN.
antenna1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-09-2009, 15:17
lstar337
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Somersets Mighty Mendip Tx!
Posts: 8,990
Yes it said on the box mpeg 2 / 4 but not dvb-t2 the box only has two scart sockets

I dont not think these where prototypes but full working models with nds or seca card slot. not sure which one,

Any one pasisng currys should take a look,
Well it wont be SECA because Sky only use their own NDS encryption.
lstar337 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-09-2009, 16:56
ProDave
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Northern Scottish Highlands
Posts: 11,302
The fact it's a Sagem box is enough to put me off. We have a Sagem ITD68 (I think) and it's the most useless freeview box I have had the misspleasure of owning. When tuned to Cbeebies it crashes and re boots every 10 minutes or so.

I would take it back, only it was a free gift. That about says it all, they are so useless the only thing you can do with them is give them away.

Of course this one might be better, but I wouldn't waste 20 to find out.
ProDave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-09-2009, 17:36
TallDave
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: West Sussex, UK (Midhurst/CP)
Posts: 585
The fact it's a Sagem box is enough to put me off. We have a Sagem ITD68 (I think) and it's the most useless freeview box I have had the misspleasure of owning. When tuned to Cbeebies it crashes and re boots every 10 minutes or so.

I would take it back, only it was a free gift. That about says it all, they are so useless the only thing you can do with them is give them away.

Of course this one might be better, but I wouldn't waste 20 to find out.
Be grateful your Sagem receiver is in the form of a set top box that you can give away. My one forms an integral part of what is an otherwise rather good DLP TV.

I'm convinced it's the MHEG applications that kill it. I'd love to know if they ever issued a bug-free version of their software, as the one they shipped is the biggest pile of s**t I've ever used!!
TallDave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-09-2009, 18:21
Digifriendly
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Moira N. Ireland
Posts: 3,590
Would this box pick up ROI DTT which is MPEG 4?
Digifriendly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-09-2009, 18:24
ProDave
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Northern Scottish Highlands
Posts: 11,302
Be grateful your Sagem receiver is in the form of a set top box that you can give away. My one forms an integral part of what is an otherwise rather good DLP TV.

I'm convinced it's the MHEG applications that kill it. I'd love to know if they ever issued a bug-free version of their software, as the one they shipped is the biggest pile of s**t I've ever used!!
Yes I think you are correct, it's the MHEG applications that cause the problems. This box only crashes on BBC channels, mostly Cbeebies (because that's the one it spends most of the day on to amuse my daughter).

I wish ALL set top boxes had the option to turn off MHEG and only receive television, I am sure they would be more reliable if that were possible.
ProDave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-09-2009, 19:14
figrin_dan
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,321
Would this box pick up ROI DTT which is MPEG 4?
I guess it will do SD but what about TNT HD in France?
figrin_dan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-09-2009, 23:26
ironeagleuk
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Folkestone, Kent (Dover TX)
Posts: 29,262
I guess it will do SD but what about TNT HD in France?
I'll let you know if I can get one
ironeagleuk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-09-2009, 12:14
Winston_1
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,096
Got one yesterday in PC World, Newport, Isle of Wight. Can't get Freeview in Ventnor where I stay but there was a lift last night and I was able to download Caen transmitter. It ignored French LCN's and put wverything in the 800's. Pictures were pasty and dim suggesting low video output level. It downloaded the HD channels but only the EPG was available and sound on Arte HD.
The clock is locked to GMT, i.e. one hour slow and there is no way to adjust it. Presumably it would be OK on UK channels. In the menus the country is locked to UK and cannot be changes though the manual implies you can with a factory reset but I could not. seems to be able to display French teletext when available. The card slot is for NDS.
Have returned it now for a replacement due to dim picture, but as there no lift now I cannot check out the replacement till I return to London later today.
Winston_1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-09-2009, 16:42
TelevisionUser
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Storbritannia
Posts: 20,857
I was looking in currys yesterday and in with the freeview receivers they had some sagem itd81 picnic ready mpeg 2&4 dvb-t receivers for sales on the on the box it said picnic ready with picnic on them in the picnic sky font with the light blue picnic background here is the logo on the box i had seen http://www.techdigest.tv/picnic-thumb.jpg, But the odd thing was that where it said sky on them it seems it was blacked out on the card board box with light blue stickers over them , Any one know what is going on with this i thought pinic was scraped.

It has got it listed on the currys site http://www.currys.co.uk/martprd/stor...show_all=true# but the one in store yesterday looking nothing like the one on the site it was the shape of a normal receiver and had a card slot here is the one i had seen in store http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/attac...-picnicbox.jpg.
Perhaps these boxes were originally part of batches that Sky had ordered ready to start flooding the market on the assumption that they'd get the go-ahead for their Picnic service. That's a bit presumptuous and that would probably have got the attention of the Competition Commissionanyway.
TelevisionUser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-09-2009, 17:12
egal
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: N Ireland
Posts: 206
Got one yesterday in PC World, Newport, Isle of Wight. Can't get Freeview in Ventnor where I stay but there was a lift last night and I was able to download Caen transmitter. It ignored French LCN's and put wverything in the 800's. Pictures were pasty and dim suggesting low video output level. It downloaded the HD channels but only the EPG was available and sound on Arte HD.
The clock is locked to GMT, i.e. one hour slow and there is no way to adjust it. Presumably it would be OK on UK channels. In the menus the country is locked to UK and cannot be changes though the manual implies you can with a factory reset but I could not. seems to be able to display French teletext when available. The card slot is for NDS.
Have returned it now for a replacement due to dim picture, but as there no lift now I cannot check out the replacement till I return to London later today.
How much was it?
egal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-09-2009, 19:48
antenna1
Guest
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 325
when you can can you post some pics of the receiver and the gui and epg did yours have the blue stickers over some thing on the outer box.
Got one yesterday in PC World, Newport, Isle of Wight. Can't get Freeview in Ventnor where I stay but there was a lift last night and I was able to download Caen transmitter. It ignored French LCN's and put wverything in the 800's. Pictures were pasty and dim suggesting low video output level. It downloaded the HD channels but only the EPG was available and sound on Arte HD.
The clock is locked to GMT, i.e. one hour slow and there is no way to adjust it. Presumably it would be OK on UK channels. In the menus the country is locked to UK and cannot be changes though the manual implies you can with a factory reset but I could not. seems to be able to display French teletext when available. The card slot is for NDS.
Have returned it now for a replacement due to dim picture, but as there no lift now I cannot check out the replacement till I return to London later today.
antenna1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-09-2009, 01:20
Winston_1
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,096
It was 19-99. There were 3 on the shelf in Newport, only 1 now after my getting 2 and returning a faulty one.

Yes Antenna 1 there were blue stickers on the outside of the box. will try to post some pics later. The menus are similar to Sagam PVR's.
Winston_1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-09-2009, 11:08
lisc998
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 115
Well, I've just web-and-reserved one from the Farnborough branch. 20 quid to get rid of the aweful thing in my dining room is worth it, and the novelty of whether waiting to find out if the mp4 is any use going forward will be fun for a few weeks.
lisc998 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-09-2009, 11:16
Der Picknicker
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 19

Good morning everybody,

The Sagem helpdesk confirmed to me that this product was a non-starter. Since Sky Picnic was never launched it therefore works on freeview only. Another interesting point is that Currys are completely responsible for any service issues since it seems like Sagem and Sky don't have anything to do with it.

BR
Der Picknicker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-09-2009, 11:43
Nigel Goodwin
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: North Derbyshire
Posts: 37,628
The Sagem helpdesk confirmed to me that this product was a non-starter. Since Sky Picnic was never launched it therefore works on freeview only. Another interesting point is that Currys are completely responsible for any service issues since it seems like Sagem and Sky don't have anything to do with it.
Normal practice - the units will have been dumped to get rid of them, no manufacturers guarantee given.

Warranty 'service' from Currys will be to replace it if it goes wrong, and refund once they have none left.
Nigel Goodwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-09-2009, 12:24
ProDave
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Northern Scottish Highlands
Posts: 11,302
I'm still waiting for screen shots of the GUI.

and my usual question about any "new" box is does it let you change the channel order in the EPG?

I'm interested to see if the GUI is heavilly "sky" branded like a sky satellite box or not.

Also, given my previous (poor) experience of Sagem DTT boxes, it's probably good that Picnic didn't launch. Unless they have made some drastic improvements to this one, sky would have been plagued with unreliable boxes that crash frequently (hey I guess sky are used to that )
ProDave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-09-2009, 18:31
VersionOne
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 55
This box is also on the dixsons site and they are throwing out the claim...

"With the Sagem ITD81 HD Freeview Digital TV Receiver you'll be able to receive a vast range of Freeview digital television channels/radio stations, including any forthcoming HD channels."

Hope they can back that up once FreeviewHD starts up.
VersionOne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-09-2009, 19:30
Ray Cathode
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Guildford / Crystal Palace
Posts: 13,114
This box is also on the dixsons site and they are throwing out the claim...

"With the Sagem ITD81 HD Freeview Digital TV Receiver you'll be able to receive a vast range of Freeview digital television channels/radio stations, including any forthcoming HD channels."

Hope they can back that up once FreeviewHD starts up.
That's good, so I can buy one, and if I don't like it, get my money back next year when it definitely won't work with Freeview HD. Must save a copy of the Dixons webpage.
Ray Cathode is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 21-09-2009, 20:42
thomas58
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 49
The fact it's a Sagem box is enough to put me off. We have a Sagem ITD68 (I think) and it's the most useless freeview box I have had the misspleasure of owning. When tuned to Cbeebies it crashes and re boots every 10 minutes or so.

I would take it back, only it was a free gift. That about says it all, they are so useless the only thing you can do with them is give them away.

Of course this one might be better, but I wouldn't waste 20 to find out.
Does it do something like the question below? ( my sisters box did this and I stopped it by turning network monitoring to No (on older software you may have to do the workaround below)) . If you do this just remember you may need to go into the menus to do a retune on
September 30th.

This has been copied & pasted from the sagem support site ID68 faq page ( http://support.sagem-communications....MITD68&pays=uk )



Q2 : Everytime I change the channels, on the screen it says "New channel found on the flow". At that point the box tunes again but soon as it is finished, it starts again and this will go on repeatedly. How can I stop this?

A2 : Firstly, enter the auto tune by pressing OK.Allow the tune to reach about 30%-40% and then press exit. If the box asks you to save the new channel list, press "NO". This process will stop the message appearing again.
If you see a message asking for "Your Network Name", unplug the unit from power, plug it back in and repeat the process a second time.
From V1.2.01 it is possible to set up the Network Monitoring on 'NO'
thomas58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-09-2009, 20:49
ProDave
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Northern Scottish Highlands
Posts: 11,302
Does it do something like the question below? ( my sisters box did this and I stopped it by turning network monitoring to No )
No my box doesn't do that any more since I discovered a long time ago to turn network monitoring off.

What my box does, only on BBC channels, is to crash at random. The picture will freeze but sound continues. After about a minute the box locks up completely then re boots and all is well. Until next time.

Like I say the most useless freeview box I have yet encountered (and not just for this reason)
ProDave is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 20:15.