Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

Windows 7 no sleep option


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 16-11-2009, 10:02
rottweiler
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: England
Posts: 2,454

There is no sleep option in my shut down options, well there is but its faded out and i cant select it...?
rottweiler is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 16-11-2009, 10:44
anniebrion
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 16,389
Power saving options in the BIOS might need altering.

Try googling for the problem with you motherboard in the query string.
anniebrion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-11-2009, 11:19
rottweiler
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: England
Posts: 2,454
ok, i will check that out, it was there in vista ?
rottweiler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-11-2009, 11:32
anniebrion
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 16,389
You could take a look at the "powercfg" command.

There used to be a problem with disktidy screwing up stuff but I'm not sure if this has been resolved in W7.
anniebrion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-11-2009, 16:01
Loobster
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 11,292
It could require a chipset driver to access the ACPI functions. Unlikely, but possible.
Loobster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-11-2009, 16:03
Trollheart
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 4,823
It may just be that it doesn't need to be clicked. When I leave my PC for more than about 20 mins, it automatically goes into sleep, and a click of the mouse or a tap on the reset button brings it back to life. Think Win 7 sleep may be automatic?
Trollheart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-11-2009, 16:33
anniebrion
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 16,389
It may just be that it doesn't need to be clicked. When I leave my PC for more than about 20 mins, it automatically goes into sleep, and a click of the mouse or a tap on the reset button brings it back to life. Think Win 7 sleep may be automatic?
You still get the option so you can fource it to sleep quicker.
anniebrion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-11-2009, 16:53
Trollheart
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 4,823
That's true. When I look, it IS there. I'm just saying that if it does so without human intervention, the fact that it's greyed out may not be a big deal, as it should go ahead and do it automatically.
Maybe.
Trollheart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-11-2009, 17:05
anniebrion
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 16,389
Found these on Google: http://www.google.co.uk/search?q=sle...eyed+windows+7
anniebrion is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 22:59.