Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

Bt Infinity


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-03-2010, 11:54
moswick
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 14

The fibre optic system from bt INFINITY has just gone live in my street so I wondered will my sky broadband be boosted straight away or do I contact them about it, I only currently get 2.9 gig download speed paying for 20.

Last edited by moswick : 01-03-2010 at 11:55. Reason: Missed out word
moswick is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 01-03-2010, 12:12
beerhunter2
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Hampshire, England
Posts: 7,169
In order to use that service you need new kit (a VDSL Modem and a new router) and so nothing will happen to you current service no matter what.

Infinity is the BT Retail name for their VDSL service. It has nothing to do with Sky and so you will need to call Sky to find out if they intend to offer a service.

BTW, you are paying for an 'up to' 20 Mb/s service.
beerhunter2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2010, 22:42
bubblegun
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Scotland
Posts: 720
You need to register on:
http://skyhispeedbb.com/
as Sky could offer you a service using the same system but haven't decided yet how they will do it.
bubblegun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2010, 11:10
moswick
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 14

thanks for the helpful replies, i phoned sky broadband help line for a laugh.the advisor had never heard of BT INFINITY, had no idea if my speed would be increased and new nothing of the website suggested skyhispeedbb.com, they are so efficient arent they
moswick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2010, 12:31
beerhunter2
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Hampshire, England
Posts: 7,169
, i phoned sky broadband help line for a laugh.the advisor had never heard of BT INFINITY,
Nor would I expect them, to. As I said earlier it is a BT Product.
beerhunter2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2010, 10:21
nessoh
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 234
But if they are selling broadband you would expect them to know what their competitors are up to.
nessoh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2010, 18:37
Big_Ted
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 4,573
The fibre optic system from bt INFINITY has just gone live in my street so I wondered will my sky broadband be boosted straight away or do I contact them about it, I only currently get 2.9 gig download speed paying for 20.
I think you mean Meg not Gig download.......


Sky have an ADSL network that has nothing to do with the BT Infinity network.

BT will I expect have to provide access via BT wholesale the same way as they do for ADSL etc.

Sky will need to negociate a deal if they want to offer it. This may need new kit in the exchange , if so it will be a slow rollout .

If they are going to be able to offer Anytime+ to more than a small number then they will need to offer this too.
Big_Ted is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-03-2010, 16:38
Optimus Prime
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Penicuik
Posts: 213
SKY's fibre broadband trial using BT's infinity fibre http://www.skyhispeedbb.com/
Optimus Prime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-03-2010, 23:49
Mystic Eddy
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 3,669
SKY's fibre broadband trial using BT's infinity fibre http://www.skyhispeedbb.com/
It's not using BT's 'Infinity' fibre, it's using BT Openreach's fibre link to provide the service through Openreach's GEA product.
Mystic Eddy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2010, 19:04
Techguy
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 462
It's not using BT's 'Infinity' fibre, it's using BT Openreach's fibre link to provide the service through Openreach's GEA product.
..and BT Infinity is the retail product for BT Broadband's service using BT Openreach's fibre link. BT Openreach is obliged to allow any company that requests it... access to the same fibre link. Hence you will see VM and Sky expand using this route in the not too distant future.
Techguy is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 18:55.