Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

Recurring "New DVB Service Found"


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-05-2010, 19:31
robot
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Livingston, West Lothian.
Posts: 1,157

For the last few weeks, our Panasonic DVD Recorder, model DMR-EX98VEB, keeps displaying the “new DVB Service found” message.

However, after saying yes to the Auto-Setup procedure, there are no new channels. I also tried using the Manual procedure on each of the six multiplexes, but again no new services are found.

Anyone know why this might be happening? I wondered if the unit is picking up the new HD transmissions that started from Black Hill recently?
robot is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 04-05-2010, 19:40
dmp
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,662
It's because the units pick up false signals, the only way to stop them is to turn the feature off, go to set up, display, new service message and select off. This means that if there really is a new channel you have to do a manual scan.
Dave
dmp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2010, 20:25
pmbond
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 762
If you google it, you will find it has been going on for years. My Panasonic does it and there are several threads on here about it. I find when I scan that the number of channels starts at one so it always thinks there are more than there are.
pmbond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2010, 21:26
robot
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Livingston, West Lothian.
Posts: 1,157
Thanks for the comments, but we've had the Recorder for almost a year, and this has only started happening in the last four or five weeks.
robot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2010, 10:21
pmbond
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 762
Yes , I've had mine about a year but it has only recently started doing it (off Emley). However if you search you find reports going back 4 or 5 years and e-mails sent and received from panasonic saying it's nothing to do with them. A Sony recorder and Samsung tv here don't do it.
pmbond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-06-2010, 13:41
robot
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Livingston, West Lothian.
Posts: 1,157
Yes, it's all quite strange!

Our Panasonic TV does not do this - only the DVD recorder.
robot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-06-2010, 19:50
dmp
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,662
You can switch off the function in the functions menu, I can't remember the correct sequence as I haven't got my unit wired up any more though I'm sure someone here can tell you the correct place.
Dave
dmp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-06-2010, 21:33
Adrian_F
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 101
Usually found in....

Functions-To Others-Setup-Display-New Service Message

and switch it off from there.
Adrian_F is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-06-2010, 18:01
Dr.OliverTwich
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Easternmost England
Posts: 945
It might_be that the units are finding new services from a distant transmitter...... but not reliably enough to tune it properly when the tuning scan is initiated...

My Panasonic TV has done the 'found new DVB service' message and on one occasion it did tune and store an alternative BBC1 region in the 800s..... which shortly then became unreceivable....

I've been getting the messages again in the last couple of days and we have high pressure weather conditions - just right for a spot of enhanced propagation.

{I sort of assume the Panasonics must scan the uhf band while in standby to search for new services??}
Dr.OliverTwich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-06-2010, 14:47
iangrad
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 768
This is caused by a simple Aerial / reception problem in that the TV or recorder tuner can see "other" stations from distant or "fill in relays" if you live in a easy reception area ( ie a valley )this never happens

As others have said just turn the message of in the menu . The reason a lot of other TV's don't do this is that they don't have active scanning or equivalent services .
Ian

PS OP your recorder cant see the DVB -t2 transmissions .
iangrad is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 13:41.