[Windowslive] Account alert email - genuine or fake? |
![]() |
|
|
Thread Tools | Search this Thread |
|
|
#1 |
|
Forum Member
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Cardiff
Posts: 1,086
|
[Windowslive] Account alert email - genuine or fake?
I had this email about my account supposedly coming from Windowslive, is it false or genuine? Has anyone else had the same email?
Dear (my email addy) This e-mail has been sent to you by Hotmail inform you that we were unable to verify your account details. This might be due to either of the following reasons: 1. A recent change in your personal information. (eg: address, phone) 2. Submitting incorrect information during register process. Due to this, to ensure that your email service is not interrupted, we request you to confirm and update your information today by following the link below https://login.hotmail.com/config/log...ify2?puser=(my e-mail addy) If you have already confirmed your information then please disregard this message. Regards, Hotmail member services Thanks for your cooperation. |
|
|
|
|
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
|
|
|
#2 |
|
Forum Member
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 18,875
|
It would be interesting to know if the link that is behind the URL you posted is the same or different. That's the usual trick, that there's somethng else behind. Anyway, if you are worried about your account, use the usual way to log on, do not click on the link.
|
|
|
|
|
|
#3 |
|
Inactive Member
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Liverpool
Posts: 4,071
|
I would be inclined to say that the email is fake. As far as I am aware, you don't have to enter any personal information to create a Hotmail account. Even if you do, they don't check.
|
|
|
|
|
|
#4 |
|
Forum Member
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 8,493
|
You can tell a mile off that it's a fake.
If in any doubt, copy and paste a chunk of the text into Google. The results will soon tell you if it's genuine or not. |
|
|
|
|
|
#5 |
|
Forum Member
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Nottingham -You lost the game!
Services: VM 10Mb, Sky+, WHS2011, Win7, iphone 4S 32GB, Squeezebox Duet
Posts: 31,588
|
If you have to ask, it's fake. You can always sign into the site by loading it manually and see if there are any messages there.
|
|
|
|
|
|
#6 |
|
Forum Member
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Cardiff
Posts: 1,086
|
I googled it and the results says it's fake. In one message I found on one website it says: You received a hoax e-mail message. Remember that we never ask for your password.
Please visit this Solution entry for more information. Visit: http://windowslivehelp.com/solutions...it-closed.aspx |
|
|
|
|
|
#7 |
|
Forum Member
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Luton
Posts: 1,752
|
I'm sure you need a forename and surname to sign up for an account with them in the first place. Genuine emails are most likely going to use the names that you put into the fields, or at least a username.
You will rarely ever see a genuine email addressing you by "Dear ****@****.co.uk". Perhaps unless the required information is and always has been very minimal, and/or you want a password reset, but even then they wouldn't be asking you to update information that they don't need will they! |
|
|
|
![]() |
«
Previous Thread
|
Next Thread
»
| Thread Tools | Search this Thread |
|
All times are GMT +1. The time now is 13:50.


