Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

Bt1 & Bt2


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 21-07-2010, 19:07
bananaman_007
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne
Posts: 7,439

Does anybody know if Topup Tv will be using these channels to show Sky Sports or will we be getting another 2 channels on the EPG showing Sky Sports?
bananaman_007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 21-07-2010, 19:10
ironeagleuk
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Folkestone, Kent (Dover TX)
Posts: 29,262
yes TUTV will be using those channels
ironeagleuk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-07-2010, 19:09
plymouthbloke1974
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: SW England
Posts: 4,935
Are these streams kicking anything out yet?

I guess they are encrypted already?
plymouthbloke1974 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-07-2010, 22:45
krooney
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Ireland
Posts: 614
Are these streams kicking anything out yet?

I guess they are encrypted already?
I dunno but they r broadcasting subtitles of sky sports 1 and 2 programming on the Thomson TUTV+ box as a previous forum member alluded to. I think they will be broadcasting an MHEG later this week. They both begin 24/7 broadcasting from today week. I hope the copyright doesn't mean they will stay BT1 and BT2!! Surely SS1 or SS2 or Sky Sports 1 and Sky Sports 2 will show up. Signing - up only available by telephone so far and there's me updating my online account. I want to add SS1/SS2 by online account as the telephone calls take an eternity. Mayb now more staff for the start of SS1/SS2!!
krooney is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 27-07-2010, 16:26
JSB1980
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Chesterfield
Posts: 1,495
I dunno but they r broadcasting subtitles of sky sports 1 and 2 programming on the Thomson TUTV+ box as a previous forum member alluded to. I think they will be broadcasting an MHEG later this week. They both begin 24/7 broadcasting from today week. I hope the copyright doesn't mean they will stay BT1 and BT2!! Surely SS1 or SS2 or Sky Sports 1 and Sky Sports 2 will show up. Signing - up only available by telephone so far and there's me updating my online account. I want to add SS1/SS2 by online account as the telephone calls take an eternity. Mayb now more staff for the start of SS1/SS2!!
Didn't take too long for my telephone order.

On a related topic, I had an e-mail from TUTV today thanking me for my 12-month ESPN subscription. Will they send me another one after Sky Sports start broadcasting? Only it reckons I'm only due to pay 9.99 a month, which is obviously wrong, but you'd think to avoid any consumer confusion they'd send another e-mail out to me once SS starts broadcasting.

And also, I was hoping ESPN were showing the UFC Jones vs. Masuyenko fight this Sunday night/Monday morning, and they're not. Boo, hiss!
JSB1980 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-07-2010, 06:46
pkc
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Brighton
Posts: 5,192
Are these streams kicking anything out yet?

I guess they are encrypted already?
I was wondering why there is no mheg saying Order now... like other channels have.

and where are they getting 2 x 24/7 streams from!
pkc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-07-2010, 09:55
IAmTheGame
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 143
Didn't take too long for my telephone order.

And also, I was hoping ESPN were showing the UFC Jones vs. Masuyenko fight this Sunday night/Monday morning, and they're not. Boo, hiss!
I think they are now. They have updated their website's schdule, its on 2am-4am Late Sunday night. Hopefully the TUTV EPG will change over the next couple of days so others will spot it.
IAmTheGame is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-07-2010, 10:08
plymouthbloke1974
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: SW England
Posts: 4,935
I was wondering why there is no mheg saying Order now... like other channels have.

and where are they getting 2 x 24/7 streams from!
I think the channels are already on-air but encrypted - if you turn subtitles on you can see subtitles for the programme on-air.

Notice the Now/Next banner gives subscription info.
plymouthbloke1974 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-07-2010, 11:17
jacko 2
Guest
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 428
Error
jacko 2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-07-2010, 11:36
ironeagleuk
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Folkestone, Kent (Dover TX)
Posts: 29,262
and where are they getting 2 x 24/7 streams from!
The BBC and Arqiva have sought to offer jointly to the market: (i) spare capacity which has become available on multiplex B ahead of digital switchover and (ii) new capacity that will become available on multiplexes C and D following digital switchover.
Source & More: http://licensing.ofcom.org.uk/tv-bro...ssues/letters/
ironeagleuk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-07-2010, 12:40
DVB Cornwall
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Cornwall
Posts: 2,929
Ofcom have granted TUTV permission to market services using the BT capacity, in letters to Arqiva and the BBC yesterday, 28-Jul-2010.

http://licensing.ofcom.org.uk/binari...0710Arqiva.pdf

http://licensing.ofcom.org.uk/binari.../290710BBC.pdf

It's interesting to note the relationships between the Mux operators, BT, TUTV and BSkyB are detailed in both letters.

The complete consent process is here ...

http://licensing.ofcom.org.uk/tv-bro...ssues/letters/
DVB Cornwall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-07-2010, 19:53
Ray Cathode
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Guildford / Crystal Palace
Posts: 13,114
Watching the bitrates on Mux B, I can see that moving pictures have been shown on BT1 & 2 except today when they are both showing a static caption, with a similar bit rate to 301 which was showing the Test Match graphic caption. As a consequence CBeebies was running at an average bitrate of over 6Mbps. Parliament never goes above 2Mbps and is usually much less.
Ray Cathode is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 30-07-2010, 23:20
TelevisionUser
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Storbritannia
Posts: 21,677
Watching the bitrates on Mux B, I can see that moving pictures have been shown on BT1 & 2 except today when they are both showing a static caption, with a similar bit rate to 301 which was showing the Test Match graphic caption. As a consequence CBeebies was running at an average bitrate of over 6Mbps. Parliament never goes above 2Mbps and is usually much less.
Aren't the two BT channels both going to eventually end up on Mux D or something like that, Ray Cathode, after digital switchover?

If that is the case, what is the picture quality likely to be like?
TelevisionUser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-07-2010, 01:10
Ray Cathode
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Guildford / Crystal Palace
Posts: 13,114
Aren't the two BT channels both going to eventually end up on Mux D or something like that, Ray Cathode, after digital switchover?

If that is the case, what is the picture quality likely to be like?
Yes they are on ARQ B in post DSO areas; the mux hosting 10 video streams in all. At the moment BT1 & BT2 are sharing 6Mbps of additional bitrate on that Mux which is not too bad. Obviously this will not be the same as their bitrates on Mux B which is running 5 video streams. Overall I would think that the BBC encoding will produce a superior $ky Sports 1 & 2 PQ wise.

When I manage to analyse an ARQ B transport stream, I will know for sure. However ITV4 sport looks poor to me.
Ray Cathode is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 31-07-2010, 01:19
TelevisionUser
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Storbritannia
Posts: 21,677
Yes they are on ARQ B in post DSO areas; the mux hosting 10 video streams in all. At the moment BT1 & BT2 are sharing 6Mbps of additional bitrate on that Mux which is not too bad. Obviously this will not be the same as their bitrates on Mux B which is running 5 video streams. Overall I would think that the BBC encoding will produce a superior $ky Sports 1 & 2 PQ wise.

When I manage to analyse an ARQ B transport stream, I will know for sure. However ITV4 sport looks poor to me.
Ouch ! and thanks for posting that info, Ray Cathode, and please do provide the link in due course.
TelevisionUser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2010, 12:18
a516
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: East Midlands
Posts: 4,777
Now appearing as Sky Sports 1 and 2 on the EPG.
a516 is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2010, 13:30
ironeagleuk
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Folkestone, Kent (Dover TX)
Posts: 29,262
Now appearing as Sky Sports 1 and 2 on the EPG.
EPG info for the progs has appeared too on the 8 day Freeview+ guide
ironeagleuk is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:27.