Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 
 

Why does my Sky HD box still allow recording without a contract?


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-08-2010, 19:19
22BUK
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 33

I though Sky disabled the "Sky+" features after termination of contact.

18 months ago I jumped ship from Sky to Virgin. It was a good move and I have been happy with the V+, but last weekend I was rummaging through the loft and found my old Sky+ HD box.

I plugged it in and to my surprise it allows me record all of the FTA channels. I cannot access CH5 and a few other channels, but 5 days later reocording still works. Have Sky changed their policy recently or is this some lucky annomaly? I still have the original viewing card plugged in and I have not connected it to a telephone line since turing it off 18months ago.
22BUK is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 06-08-2010, 20:01
Nigel Goodwin
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: North Derbyshire
Posts: 37,591
The telephone line has no bearing on it, it's not been turned off because it's not been connected to a dish - they only send out the Sky+ kill signal for a fairly short time (a few months perhaps?).
Nigel Goodwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2010, 00:50
Sirius
Guest
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 4,747
Is it still working?
Sirius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2010, 01:20
countzerouk
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 215
I can confirm that recording will carry on working if your box misses it's switch off signal. However try upgrading to a FTV white card and you will lose the recording ability
countzerouk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2010, 14:15
ProDave
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Northern Scottish Highlands
Posts: 11,302
Yes but be very very careful with your working "freesat from sky+" box.

As you have found, the old blue card still enables recording and playback of the free to air channels, because it missed the disable recording command. My thoughts are it's unlikely any more kill commands will be sent to the old blue cards any more, but just to be safe, I pull my card out of the box if it's not actually recording or playing back.

But as I say, be very careful. Under certain circumstances, use of a new White card in the box will disable that box recognising the old blue card at all, and hence you would lose the recording ability.

So you have a tough choice to make. Keep on using the old card to record and play the free to air channels, or buy a new freesat from sky card to also allow you to watch the free to view channels (five usa, fiver, sky 3, Viva, channel 4 HD and five HD) but activating the new white freesat from sky card will most likely make the box refuse to recognise the old card, so you would lose your recording functions completely even if you put the old card back.

My guess is that at some point in the future, a software update will stop the boxes recognising the old cards anyway, so use and enjoy the recording ability while you can.

If you want to watch (but not record) five, it can be tuned in with "add channels" and viewed with "other channels"
ProDave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2010, 15:47
coopermanyorks
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: In Gods Own County
Posts: 19,976
Op,if its a problem,simply ring Sky and complain ?
coopermanyorks is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:06.