Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 
 

How to extend ring main (sockets) to add extra socket


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 31-12-2010, 12:16
petertard
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 10,782

Do you need 2 wires for a new double socket ?
petertard is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 31-12-2010, 12:18
bryemycaz
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 5,531
You can just spur of an existing socket in the ring main with a single wire. It all depends what you are going to run off of it, the only thing id avoid putting on a spur is a tumble dryer.
bryemycaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-12-2010, 12:21
petertard
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 10,782
Do you use a junction box to spur off, or terminal blocks or wagos ?
petertard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-12-2010, 12:28
bryemycaz
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 5,531
If the socket is near the one you want to install. You can just go off the back of the existing socket.
bryemycaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-12-2010, 12:29
LCDMAN
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Yorkshire, God's County
Posts: 4,787
With all due respect, the questions you are asking suggest you don't have a bleedin' clue and as such are likely to make a right old botched job of it - leave it to an electrician (like me) FFS!
LCDMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-12-2010, 12:38
Yosemite
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: England
Posts: 3,821
With all due respect, the questions you are asking suggest you don't have a bleedin' clue ...
Too true.

... and as such are likely to make a right old botched job of it ...
Or something much worse.
Yosemite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-12-2010, 12:58
Caxton
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 20,490
With all due respect, the questions you are asking suggest you don't have a bleedin' clue and as such are likely to make a right old botched job of it - leave it to an electrician (like me) FFS!
Now that is an excellent post and it will do well for people contemplating messing about with home electrics to read it.

Having a member of the family who is also an electrician and he gets called out to many homes where he has seen some horrendous amateur wiring jobs.

13 amp sockets with no earth, multiple spurs feeding all sorts of things. Non-armoured cable buried under a garden feeding a shed with a supply.

He had even seen a spur taken from a lighting circuit feeding a 13 amp socket with no earth wire supply. Unsuitable fluorescent tubes lights installed in bathrooms not complying with regulations and even 13amp sockets in bathrooms, not to mention electric heaters on a wall within reach of the bath. All amateur self-wiring that would make your hair curl.

Not to mention wiring terminated in sockets with bare wire showing because too much insulation had been removed and a multitude of 13 amp plugs with faults, wrong fuses and chewed cable at the cord grip. Usually the customer will admit it was his own work when questioned about who did the wiring or the wife will say it is "all her hubbies work, he understands these things I don't". Yes, obviously he does

Most of these have been on call-outs because the mcbs and rcds have been cutting the supply. Thank God these safety devices exist without the electrocution would be far more common.
Caxton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-12-2010, 13:38
tony13579
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: south coast
Posts: 1,080
no you cant use 2 wire


As others say your questions prove you are not a competent person for this task. I have a sneaking susspicion you will try any way.
tony13579 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-12-2010, 14:11
Stewie_C
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,666
Electricity can, and does kill. If you are asking for advice on how to do the job in a general advice newsgroup I'd suggest you should not be attempting this. Like LCDMAN I am a qualified practicing electrician and I see the results of people's attempts at DIY all the time. Not nice! I think calling in someone who can do the job competently will actually save you money.
Stewie_C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-12-2010, 14:34
grumpyscot
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Edinburgh
Posts: 6,679
petertard - the number you will need (or someone else if you electrocute yourself) - 999 Ask for Fire & Rescue or Ambulance as appropriate.
grumpyscot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-12-2010, 15:22
LCDMAN
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Yorkshire, God's County
Posts: 4,787
A DIY bodge from my "Black Museum"

http://img192.imageshack.us/img192/8435/jbfire1.jpg

Fortunately the smoke was spotted BEFORE the house burned down!
LCDMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-12-2010, 15:48
Si_Crewe
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Dumfries
Posts: 33,317
Do you need 2 wires for a new double socket ?
You only need to run a single 3-core cable to a double socket, if that's what you're asking.

When you run a new spur to a socket you should be using the flat twin & earth 25-amp cable so one cable can safely supply maximum amperage to a double socket.

As above though, if you have to ask you really shouldn't be considering it.
Si_Crewe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-12-2010, 15:59
FlyinBrick
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Dissipating into the ether
Posts: 1,406
Lots and lots of reasons why you shouldn't be doing this.

Cannot think of one reason why you should.

I thought with the new 17th edition that even a home DIY job had to be signed off/notified?
(Not a trician so not sure).
FlyinBrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-12-2010, 16:05
LCDMAN
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Yorkshire, God's County
Posts: 4,787
FlyinBrick, Here is good guide to just what you may do for yourself under Part P of the Building Regulations, without notification/sign off. You may be surprised just how much you may do - outside of "special locations" (such as kitchens & bathrooms, mainly);

DIY Electrical Work and the "Law"
LCDMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-12-2010, 16:20
AppleJuice:)
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Playing with Lego
Posts: 2,660
Why don't you just buy an extension lead with 4 sockets?
AppleJuice:) is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-12-2010, 19:38
FlyinBrick
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Dissipating into the ether
Posts: 1,406
FlyinBrick, Here is good guide to just what you may do for yourself under Part P of the Building Regulations, without notification/sign off. You may be surprised just how much you may do - outside of "special locations" (such as kitchens & bathrooms, mainly);

DIY Electrical Work and the "Law"
Cheers, bookmarked

So, correct me if I'm wrong but it roughly means repairing or replacing like for like existing installations such as light fixings, sockets control units, damaged (single spur, not ring) wiring etc.


Or if you do carry out DIY/unregulated work other than the above then it needs to be inspected via your council and signed off by them.

Wheras putting in a new spur as per petertard would need the calculations for the circuit to be checked first I think?


That about right LCD?
FlyinBrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-12-2010, 19:52
c4rv
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Essex
Posts: 14,877
So basically you can add a spur without needing sign-off

So what does 'any new fixed cabling' mean ?
c4rv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-12-2010, 20:10
FlyinBrick
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Dissipating into the ether
Posts: 1,406
So basically you can add a spur without needing sign-off

So what does 'any new fixed cabling' mean ?
It means adding a spur... so no, you can't.
My example was poorly written, I mean you can repair a damaged spur wiring, but not add a new spur. I meant to clarify that you cannot repair damaged ring wiring.

That's how I read it anyway.
FlyinBrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2011, 11:39
petertard
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 10,782
How much should an electrician charge for this type of job ?
petertard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2011, 11:45
bryemycaz
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 5,531
How much should an electrician charge for this type of job ?
How long is a peice of string. Give us an Idea of how far you need to run the socket whereabouts is the nearest socket or the MCB/Fuse board.
bryemycaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2011, 11:54
petertard
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 10,782
The nearest socket is about 2 metres away from the intended new socket. The second nearest socket is about a further 3 metres away.
petertard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2011, 11:57
LCDMAN
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Yorkshire, God's County
Posts: 4,787
How much should an electrician charge for this type of job ?
Some real-life examples;

http://www.whatprice.co.uk/prices/el...ew-socket.html

One socket 50-65, less per socket if more sockets (e.g.~ 100-120 for 3). Cutting out/chasing is the main pain/time of the job, actual wiring takes minutes.
LCDMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2011, 11:59
AppleJuice:)
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Playing with Lego
Posts: 2,660
You can get an extension lead for about 2.50.

Why go to all the hassle of installing a new socket?
AppleJuice:) is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2011, 12:02
Caxton
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 20,490
You can get an extension lead for about 2.50.

Why go to all the hassle of installing a new socket?
I would think it looks tidier and certainly safer.
Caxton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2011, 12:04
AppleJuice:)
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Playing with Lego
Posts: 2,660
I would think it looks tidier and certainly safer.
You could clip the cable to the wall if you wanted and its no less safe.
AppleJuice:) is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 14:10.